We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HOTEL IN LAUNCESTON” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
“GREAT HOTEL IN LAUNCESTON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A great place to stay in Launceston. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Great location for those wanting to stay and walk to the football at Aurora stadium. Rooms were excellent. We stayed in a deluxe room that had a queen bed and a single bed/tea and coffee making facilities/bar fridge and microwave. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great stay in Launceston

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    265
    104
    29
    11
See reviews for
131
296
48
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great value in what can be an overpriced Tasmanian market place. Very clean and spacious rooms. Quite location in central part of Launceston. Vey helpfully staff, pleasant dinning room. Give it a try.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hatobuilico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful and very kind. The room was quiet and lovely, incredibly clean, with a great outlook and had a bath! Woo-hoo! Very central and only 5 mins to walk into the Launceston CBD. Fabulous food at the on-site restaurant and they serve good quality Tasmanian wines. Excellent!
I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms that look out onto Elizabeth Street are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

had a great stay at the Colonial Quality Hotel in Launceston, staff were very helpfull and willing to help with information about Launceston. They have a couple of very good restrauants ,I decided to eat at Three Steps on George great food and reasonable priced drinks. Breakfasts were first class, however as I was leaving early last day I purchased a breakfast pack called Brekky? good value Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john19448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, only a short walk from the CBD however I don't suggest staying here if your under the age of 20, I booked online and there was no mention of the necessity of a credit card or a $300 bond, so upon arrival I had to borrow money off my family so I didn't end up sleeping on the street!

The cleanliness of the room was rather lacking, there was a hair band and a dirty tissue on the floor when I opened the door!

Other than that its in a fairly quiet location, far off from the street so there's no noise during the night at all, after borrowing the money and cleaning my own room the stay was ok.



  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leahmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we first arrived into the room we were amazed by how clean and spacious it was! The 'black bathroom' was clean and modern. It supplied all bathroom needs such as soaps, toothbrush, razors and the shampoo and conditioner dispenser. The staff were very helpful with all our needs. Overall the price that we paid was Definently worth it! I will be staying here again in the foreseeable future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LonnyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

First impressions were good.
Garden, heritage building and friendly receptionist, and then it was all downhill.
Ground floor room, a strange smelling dark area with little storage for clothes. The so called wardrobe had hanging space fighting with the ironing board, and the two open drawers tacked inside were insufficient for one person let alone two.
The bathroom was a disgrace.
No exhaust fan, but the window could be opened, and it was, allowing for a view of the car park and the garbage bins whilst showering.
The overhead light was host to various dead insects inside, and the shower curtain was long past its use by date.
The Breakfast - Launceston is filled with bakeries, home made jams, preserves, local honey etc,
and what is offered at breakfast?
Sliced white bread, raisin bread and a token wholemeal. Kraft plastic sachets of peanut butter, vegemite, honey and apricot jam. No freshly squeezed juice and something disguised as coffee.
Eggs cooked who knows when and hash browns seemingly out of a packet.
Also, dirty plates for two mornings in a row that were offered for use.
It just goes on and on, extremely disappointing. There is no way this place deserves the four star rating.
I would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Property: Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Address: 31 Elizabeth St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston is Launceston's best centrally addressed hotel. Situated in the Launceston CBD and close to all tourist attractions, sporting venues, shops, cafes and the City Park Launceston,it is an ideal base for business or leisure travellers. This Launceston hotel offers a total of 70 welcoming guest rooms, including standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel rooms, business class hotel rooms, 1 bedroom suites & spa suites. Brand new self contained apartments are also available for those who wish to spoil themselves with some extra space & facilities. All hotel rooms offer mini bar, complimentary tea & coffee, free movie channels, free newspaper, free parking, free gym, and private en-suite. Upgrade to a Deluxe Hotel Room for extra facilities and request a private balcony. Or upgrade to our extra spacious Business Class Rooms and ask for our best value package deal which includes WIFI. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also has an onsite Restaurant & Bar called Three Steps on George which is popular with both hotel guests and Launceston locals alike. The restaurant's decor takes inspiration from traditional British pubs and offers everyone's favourite classic dishes but with a twist. It's a great spot for an after work drink, a romantic dinner on the mezzanine level or a bite with friends or family by the open log fire in winter or in the garden in summer. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also features a Function & Conferencing Centre and houses 5 function rooms catering from small groups to large cocktail parties, dinners, and weddings. With free off street parking and a special function rate for accommodation, The Colonial has got conferencing covered. A place with a stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage. A truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing