We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed for a couple of days before heading off to uni lodgings. My family stayed longer. Had a really good meal in The Steps Restaurant. Room was serviced really well - never worried if 'make up room' had happened. The location and value is excellent. Very easy for me to recommend to visting friends.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowan01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 879 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

False advertising to the extreme. Rooms advertised as refurbished - in fact they are 80's nightmares! Rang ahead to check if we were staying the the heritage part of the hotel - told that we were... in fact it is a concrete block monstrosity at the rear of the heritage building. Noisy bar adjacent (part of the hotel) ensured that the serenity was constantly broken! 'Spa suite' - hardly big enough for a foot-spa! Whilst the room was very clean, the hallways are a disgrace! Only good comment being the good quality beds and bed-linen.

Left feedback at the time but no follow-up has been received.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Colonial for the first time while visiting launceston ,apon arrival we were greeted at reception by smileing young lass by name of Connie who explained all we needed to know , our stay was sooo good , couldn't pick a fault with the room ,service, and comfort I will be back for sure and highly recommend this hotel to anyone ,when booking out we were greeted by the manager and the same young Connie with the same big smile , please try you want regret staying there (we have stayed in many Hotels on our travels ) we know what were talking about . Also great location

Room Tip: little block of units on right of driveway very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at the Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston and it was absolutely divine! The heritage architecture, garden and decore in my suite was sensational! It was such a dreamy experience, I would love to get married in the garden one day...
It is perfectly located, set back from the main street, quiet and peaceful, yet centrally located right in the CBD. What more does one want?? I slept really well in the quite room and comfortable bed.
My stay was topped off at the end of a long day in the comfortable restaurant with lovely Tasmanian meals. The wine matched the meal, the background music lovely and service really friendly and accommodating. It was really hard to pick which desert from the tempting menu!!
I could not believe the whole experience was so affordable.
Overall, it is well worth a visit into Launceston and staying at the Quality Hotel Colonial, Launceston.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely rooms big and spacious clean and neat, upstairs with a/c lovely bathroom very close to the city center so easy walk to the middle of town, good food.The staff were lovely and helpful and the grounds and gardens very clean, under cover parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A great place to stay with plenty of character and history. The owner was very welcoming, informative and passionate about Launceston and his hotel. Room was comfortable and clean and there is oodles of parking. Love the delivery of a paper in the morning. If you can, listen in on a visit from the Ghost Tour people. From this location we were able to walk to almost everywhere we wanted to go. S&B Bathurst.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed two nights whilst looking around Launceston. The hotel is fairly close to the CBD, so that is a plus. The room was quiet and clean, but very dark. We had a family room on the second floor, and by the time we got the luggage upstairs, didn't want to go back down at all for anything..... We all needed nanna naps.... The room was very dark, which was good for sleeping, had A/C, and as I have read in Trip Advisor reviews this is different to the ground floor, so perhaps we were fortunate to be given the upstairs room, and for challenging ourselves with the stairs......

The room was okay, and cable TV saved the day. The beds were comfortable and there was no road noise to be heard. A special treat for us was the magic view for the fireworks on the riverbank on the Friday night to celebrate Australia Day.

The bathroom had been redone in recent times, and was well equipped however, I would advise caution as the tiles were very slippery. The toilet brush holder could do with being dipped in bleach next time the rooms are serviced.

We ate in the Three Steps Restaurant, and were told that breakfasts were served in the hotel front reception room and headed there on the second morning for breakfast. Despite us being one of the few guests at breakfast we were greeted by an officious staff member who looked like she would prefer to be elsewhere. It was one of the worst buffet breakfasts we have experienced. The eggs were like rubber, and most of the food was stone cold.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Address: 31 Elizabeth St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $103 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston is Launceston's best centrally addressed hotel. Situated in the Launceston CBD and close to all tourist attractions, sporting venues, shops, cafes and the City Park Launceston,it is an ideal base for business or leisure travellers. This Launceston hotel offers a total of 70 welcoming guest rooms, including standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel rooms, business class hotel rooms, 1 bedroom suites & spa suites. Brand new self contained apartments are also available for those who wish to spoil themselves with some extra space & facilities. All hotel rooms offer mini bar, complimentary tea & coffee, free movie channels, free newspaper, free parking, free gym, and private en-suite. Upgrade to a Deluxe Hotel Room for extra facilities and request a private balcony. Or upgrade to our extra spacious Business Class Rooms and ask for our best value package deal which includes WIFI. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also has an onsite Restaurant & Bar called Three Steps on George which is popular with both hotel guests and Launceston locals alike. The restaurant's decor takes inspiration from traditional British pubs and offers everyone's favourite classic dishes but with a twist. It's a great spot for an after work drink, a romantic dinner on the mezzanine level or a bite with friends or family by the open log fire in winter or in the garden in summer. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also features a Function & Conferencing Centre and houses 5 function rooms catering from small groups to large cocktail parties, dinners, and weddings. With free off street parking and a special function rate for accommodation, The Colonial has got conferencing covered. A place with a stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage. A truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing