We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint bit of history”
Review of The Old Bakery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Bakery Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had a lovely room is this beautiful old building. It is basically just an ensuited room, but it is clean and decorated to suite the period it was built. We loved looking through the corridors and reception area at all the collectables & antiques carefully placed to enhance the old world charm of this beautiful building. It was very quiet and we did not hear any outside noise dispite the Inn being on a busy road.If you are looking for a room with all the bells and whistles, this place is not for you, but if you would like to submerge yourself in a bit of Launie history and relax I definately would recommend the Old Bakery Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrisbaneBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Room was everything we needed and very clean. Breakfast in the brekkie room was lovely and again just what we needed (not over the top). The staff we encountered were lovely and very helpful. Would definitely give the thumbs up :).
Our room was on the street but had double glazed windows so we were oblivious to the noise. $100 for a lovely overnight stay was an absolute surprise with breakfast included. Two very happy tired travellers were very well rested after our night here.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

There was little option for accommodation as the city was heavily booked. This hotel is tired
and I am not sure the sheets were clean. The noise from the streets kept us awake until the early hours. Not sure I would return.

Room Tip: Select a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I agree with some of the other posts. Friendly enough management. Old fashioned decor, but comfy enough. Good location to walk to the Gorge and to Charles St where there are some nice cafes for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JClare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was the only place on our second trip to Tassie that we didn't pre book. Arriving late afternoon with lots of accomadation options in the local accomadation guide we stumbled on this place when the budget place up the road was full.As we didn't want to spend big $$ basically to sleep & were getting hot & bothered we decided to take a punt & check it out.
nice surprize! For $85 we had the double room that actually had a full kitchen in it. very concerned about the buzy street as we come from the boonies but were surprized how quiet it was with the window shut. slept like a log till 8.30 (very unusual in strange beds).Owner has invested in double glazing & refurbished over the years in the heritage style which suits the age & feel of the property. Happy to give info on where to eat ect.which we found helpful. Would definatley stay again.

Room Tip: If you can't handle stairs ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

From its name, you can guess this is a converted building and the rooms are a variety of sizes. Some face the courtyard, or car park or main street. Mine was the latter and as this is also a busy crossroad, there was some traffic noise during the day, but no problem at night. I closed the French doors and switched on the A/C. My room was good size, very comfortable and pretty decoration. There was a fridge and tea/coffee maker. There is a breakfst room - continental or cooked, but no evening meals. However, it is only a short walk to the town centre with plenty of choice. Restaurants by the river are rather expensive! The town has a lot of heritage buildings and easy to tour on foot. Traffic is rather heavy, so leave the car! A boat trip is recommended . I also used the laundry facilities which were very good. Alan and his staff were all very pleasant and helpful and I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: some rooms have kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and will stay again.
It was value for money, and the room was clean and not to small.
The bathroom was recently renovated and while not having a bath the shower was huge. There was a mini bar if you desired and even though I didnt partake there was a breakfast on offer at additional tariff.

The lady at reception was helpful and I can recommend this Inn . PS there was off street parking

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery Inn

Address: 270 York St | Cnr York & Margaret Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: $67 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Bakery Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel
The Old Bakery Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing