We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always helpful”

The Old Umbrella Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Always helpful”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Dropped in to ask about some information on walking trails. They didn't have the map i was after but were very welcoming and helpful. The store is warm and full of intriguing oddments. PS I was able to get the historic walking trail map online.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    29
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
742 reviews
378 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“It's just a shop”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A pleasant gift shop with a range of bits and pieces in addition to umbrellas. If you're wondering past, call in but as a previous reviewer said, it's not worth searching out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would not go out of my way to find it”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The place is oldish. Nothing really spectacular to see in there. There are umbrellas for sale of all sizes. I expected to see the process of making or a workshop - there was none of that. Along the umbrellas it was an overpriced gift shop. I would not go out of my way to find this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This little shop takes one back in time. Beautiful umbrellas to be seen and purchased, the ladies in the shop were lovely, happy to chat about the history of the shop. There was even an original old cash register in working order on the counter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Herma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belconnen, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An interesting part of Launceston's history”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Old Umbrella Shop is an interesting mixture of contemporary information about Launceston, souvenirs for sale, and a display of an old style shop with umbrellas. I enjoyed the display, bought a souvenir, but mostly enjoyed talking to the women in the store about interesting things to see (such as various shopfronts) while walking around Launceston. Some of the shopfronts I knew about, but there were a couple I'd have completely missed otherwise.
The Old Umbrella Shop is one of a number of places worth visiting while walking through Launceston.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Umbrella Shop also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to The Old Umbrella Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing