We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
273
248
41
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
248
41
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv cooked breakfast free netflix continental breakfast was included free parking city view car park on site parking plenty of parking rooms are spacious good size would definitely stay here again great position central location room rate within walking distance a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 576 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2016

Great value for money hotel with basic breakfast and Netflix included in the room rate. The hotel is a bit dated; however, the room was spacious, warm and clean with a very comfy bed. Centrally located with friendly staff. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jvirtue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

This was a great value stay. I travel all over australia and this is way above many stays. Breakfast was amazing, hot cooked to order and everything fresh. Thanks for the complementary coffee and I was impressed you remembered my preference each morning. Rooms are comfy and warm. Cleaning of room exceptional. Staff all friendly and helpful. The car park is a bit tricky. Close location to city centre and walks along water front. Would recommend and stay again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mprior94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

The accommodation at the Balmoral on York has had a facelift and the facilities are very good. The rooms aren't luxurious but they are large, clean and well appointed. Our deal, booked via TripAdvisor, included a full cooked breakfast which was excellent. So the accommodation represent great value. But best of all was the great service provided by the Balmoral on York staff.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016

At first we were disappointed in Balmoral because it does seem a little old and run down, but the issues are purely cosmetic. The rooms are nicely furnished, the beds are comfortable, and the shower is excellent. We were worried as our room was right across from the lift but we never heard it, it's the world's quietest lift. Our booking came with breakfast and it was excellent every day, far better than I've experienced previously with "free breakfasts". We ate in the restaurant for dinner one night as well and it too was excellent. Front of desk was very friendly and helpful. Free parking was very handy (the main reason we booked this venue) but in hindsight Launceston is very walkable, we could have stayed a little less central without issues. My only real complaint is the window of our room let in a lot of noise, but it's not a noisy city. The Launceston bells didn't bother me at all overnight.

Date of stay: May 2016
1  Thank anaussiemusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016

This is a great hotel. Comfortable rooms with amazing beds. Good facilities, NBN, Netflix and great food. The real difference is the attentive and helpful staff. Parking is easy and the location is central to Launceston.

Room tip: all the rooms offer value and comfort
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews