We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
273
248
41
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
248
41
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv cooked breakfast free netflix continental breakfast was included free parking city view car park on site parking plenty of parking rooms are spacious good size would definitely stay here again great position central location room rate within walking distance a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 576 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed here for one night after arriving in Tasmania and it had everything we needed at a great price. The location was convenient, the room was huge and the furniture was comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and we really appreciated the free parking and wifi. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Launceston.

Room tip: We were on the third floor and had a decent view over Launceston.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sienna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2015

Balmoral on York is ideally located for access to the airport or to the attractions of Launceston After parking in the free off road car park we were welcomed by the receptionist and quickly allocated our room. Access was via a lift - a very welcome feature if you are elderly. Our room was well equipped, pleasant without being ostentatious, spotlessly clean with a firm bed and a positive shower. Free NBN was an added advantage. All the staff were helpful and friendly going out of their way to help wherever possible. There was plenty of room to relax with a 2 seater couch and a table with two chairs. We enjoyed the continental breakfast but did not dine in as we preferred to see a little of Launceston during our short stay. This hotel is value for money and I would certainly return.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank olmec76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2015

Stayed here recently for one night, and was happy with our choice. Walking distance to everything, nice friendly staff, and a continental breakfast included! Hotel is quite old, but very clean and comfortable, would definately stay here again, very resonably priced.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rikstar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2015

Stayed 3 nights at the Balmoral on York and on our departure from Launceston came back to stay another 2 during our visit to Tasmania. Absolutely loved it! Fantastic service from Trevor who offered us free cappuccino's and gave us a good deal with full cooked or continental breakfast buffet. Very welcoming service from staff with spacious, clean rooms that were tidy and modern. Free NBN wifi was excellent! Close walking distance to the city centre with parking on site. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mocha_gem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2015

Good clean accommodation with big rooms. Comfortable beds, some rooms with microwave. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great and the $7 upgrade to a cooked one well worth it. Due to (as normal it seems in Tassie) everywhere we tried to book for dinner was booked out at reasonable eating times, we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. The menu was good and not too extensive and they obviously select the best produce. The steak I had was to die for!! Very very good and on a par with that I had in a leading steak restaurant in Hobart!!! Overall, while an older looking building, the hotel offers terrific value for money. Would stay here again if I get back to Launy. Has NBN free wifi which was a bonus.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robb529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews