We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and big rooms”
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the Balmoral on York. The room was very large and even had a side area within the room with another bed. The breakfast, which was included, was spectacular! They had a huge variety and even offered us a cooked breakfast. The customer service was also top notch. Everyone who works there was friendly and happy to accommodate any of our requests. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NixC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 526 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in a few hotels in Australia and Europe but the Balmoral is a nice place. Don't be fooled by the exterior the rooms are clean, functional and well appointed. Management is doing a job other hotels should take note of. The cooked breakfast was made to order and very fresh. Will return no doubt.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank paulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Balmoral isn't fancy, but is extremely reliable and friendly. Location is handy for everything in town. Easy walking distance to a good range of restaurants. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Also nice and quiet. Hot breakfast was cooked to order. Easy free parking onsite.
I'd definitely recommend it as good value for the price.

Room Tip: Bed and cooked breakfast packages are best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Several factors made our stay at the Balmoral the success it was. First we had the reasonable pricing; then the staff going out of their way to help us out (we arrived way before our check-in time and they guided us through everything open in the area around Christmas); add the free parking.
Then there was the room itself, which comfortably offered all the facilities we could ask for (sans a safe) and featured a renovated bathroom. And last, there's the free wifi with absolutely no hassles.
Seriously, we couldn't ask for anything more right at the centre of Launceston.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Metal_Detect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This property is situated conveniently within the centre of Launceston, only a block or two from the main shopping mall. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable and the manager, Trevor Donaldson, was very helpful and obliging, as were all the staff we dealt with. There was an efficient air conditioning system in the room, making for a comfortable nights sleep. We ate dinner in the dining room and selected from a comprehensive food and wine menu, which supports local wine makers. Breakfast is served in the dining room, whilst lunch is available Monday to Friday by room service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

stayed here for a week. service was excellent. we were greeted with a smile every morning and got great advice on which attractions to see. the hot breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious! would definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Needed a place to stay for 2 nights while we toured surrounding areas. This place is a nice choice if you are after a comfortable space to shower and sleep. Don't expect anything luxurious, but our room was very clean and quiet, and the reception staff is lovely. The housekeeping standard is very professional in contrast to the buildings rather drab appearance. Highly recommended for a reasonably priced stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $88 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing