We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We made Balmoral our first stay in Tasmania. Chose it because of the ratings on TripAdvisor and the convenience of location in town. We certainly were not disappointed.

A comfortable hotel with all the facilities you need. Off street parking for the car, great food at realistic prices.

The staff were helpful and friendly at all times.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    215
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
285
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Balmoral overnight. We were presently surprised at the neat tidy modern room. It was a cold night and the heat pump warmed the room perfectly. Our room was at the back of the building and very quiet. The check out staff was a lovely accommodating man. Will defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica-Kate03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed a few nights as a base to do day trips around northern Tasmania. Older style hotel overlooking Launceston with very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Windows open allowing natural airflow which seems rare these days. Very nice to come back to after a day exploring. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186daver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex hills Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hi guys, my husband and i stayed for just the one night on Monday 2nd September 2013..
We were very impressed firstly by the cleanliness of the room and the bed was also very comfy as well.. but the best part was the first class service we received from Trevor the next morning...We were the first to come down for breakfast, we were very warmly welcomed by Trevor and told that we could order anything from the menu and it wld be freshly cooked for us.. My husband ordered eggs, bacon, toast, sausages and he was very happy when it arrived a lovely hot breakfast and very delicious too...
I just had the cereal and fruit which was very nice also.. Trevor asked me if i wld like a fresh cup of coffee or tea? I replied that i didnt drink tea or coffee and that i only drink Chai Latte, he then told me he could make me a chai and that he wanted my honest opinion of his chai making skills.. Well, as i am an expert in the Chai field, his effort was fantastic.. it was yummy and sweet just how chai shld be.. he just needed to put cinnamon sugar on top instead of chocolate..

All in all a very pleasant stay with wonderful treatment and Trevor you are a gem.. keep up the great work guys and we will be back one day..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Cosy & one of the better hotel we stayed in Tasmania. The hotel is well maintained, clean and comfortable. It has good views of the city and centrally located. However, the breakfast that comes with the room booking is just a simple breakfast with limited spread.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pggenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Balmoral on York in Launceston, Tasmania with my two sister's and their husbands and we could not have asked for a better jump start to our Tassie Adventure. The Balmoral in located a short walk from the centre of town, with excellent views over the city towards to river. The rooms were very large and spacious, offering comfort and warmth during winter. The staff were nothing but exceptional and offered all forms of service and advice. The food, especially breakfast was amazing and the personal service offered by the friendly waitress was outstanding. My sister later told me she returned and stayed another night here before flying home to Western Australia and met the Owner/Manager and was treated to the best service again. I would highly recommend the Balmoral on York, Launceston to any and all of my friends and family when visiting Tasmania. Thank you.

Room Tip: Always request a North (City) facing room to enjoy the morning views :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed almost a week and was pleased with the room and service. The block wall decor is dated, but the furniture and fittings almost new. Very comfortable bed and bedding. Everything was well maintained and very clean. Small touches such as supplying a teapot and a clearly written guide to the entertainment channels added to my comfort. All staff I met were helpful and friendly.
I only ate continental breakfast once and found it pretty ordinary, so I would go for the cooked breakfast, if I stayed again and wanted the convenience of eating at the hotel. There are several cafes in easy walking distance, so plenty of breakfast options elsewhere.
Don't be put off by the outside appearance of the building, my stay was a lot better than I expected and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Save money with a Residential View room and hotel special offers for late checkout and cut price bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing