We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast, large rooms but not pretty”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
sf bay area
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, large rooms but not pretty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The breakfasts were great with eggs cooked to order. Close to central area to town. Rooms were large and clean. The staff were helpful with directions and recommendations. However the cinder block walls were a bit cold and drab looking. Free car park in rear. It was a little difficult to find since the street changes from two way to one way a block away.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnoSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    210
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
283
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Balmoral on York during our first trip to Tassie. Everything was very easy, even getting another night of accommodation as my partner forgot to book a second night. Continental breakfast with eggs, bacon etc is included which also saves you the hassle of looking for a place to eat in the morning.
There is a free parking for the guests which is handy as we rented a car and didn't have to worry about it.
Service was amazing and very friendly, i cannot fault the place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. Very comfortable and clean. Friendly staff. Easy walk to the saturday morning food market in the city. Good sized warm room, great breakfast, good parking included. Loved the view in the evening of lights across the city. The bell tower may annoy some, I didn't hear all the chimes and I liked it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Good room plenty of parking very helpful staff except for being told the targa would not affect our drive to Scottsdale it did and we nearly ended up stranded in Ben Lomond National Park! Bathroom clean and spacious, breakfast included was very good. Definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the hotel. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. The location is great. The rooms comfortable and clean. I would certainly recommend the hotel. We only had a car park view but to be honest you are in the city centre not at a country retreat where the view really matters.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medoolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nothing special but a good location by downtown, clean, and very quiet. Spacious room with all we needed. The price was good, $130/night. Didn't eat at the restaurant. No amenities but that seems to be the norm

Room Tip: Had a room on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JTinSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

As a regular visitor to Launceston, it was great to be able to stay again at this service centred hotel. On my last two visits it was booked out which is a good reflection of its popularity. Continuously improving, on this trip there were some nice new touches in the room which made it feel more homely. Always a pleasure to stay; if only service was this good everywhere.

Room Tip: One of the double rooms has a little alcove with an extra single bed, great to be able to share when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazmerelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing