We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms with a 5 star feel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral on York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Rooms with a 5 star feel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of 3 stayed on 2 different occasions at this hotel (upgraded to a higher floor with a city view the second time). Our room had a queen and a single bed – the single bed was in a separate partition which was good for privacy. Our first room was a standard room on the lower floor. Both rooms were very clean and spacious for 3 people. Bed was comfortable with luxury feel linen. Toilet and bathroom were modern and spotless. In the city view room, the shower was in a separate room. Excellent because you could still use the toilet if someone was showering or vice versa. Towels were thick and fluffy. Toiletries – no bar soap but liquid handwash on a wall dispenser. Hair and body shampoo were the dispensing type like those on cruise ships. There was only 1 small lift but we never had to wait long for it. Except for the occasional, faint traffic noise in the early morning, I didn’t experience any noise coming from other rooms (doors banging, loud conversations, etc). Rooms had flat-screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a bar fridge.
York St. is a one way street except for the block where the hotel is located. It is a slightly uphill (not steep) walk if coming from CBD. Adjacent Tamar St. is steeper.
A short stroll to Yorktown mall for Asian dining. Also lots of other dining choices since it was a short walk to CBD. Walking distance to Me Wah Chinese restaurant (booking required for dinner) and Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery. The City Park (Macaque monkey enclosure) is nearby.
There is a restaurant on site which we didn’t try. Handy if you don’t feel like going out.
The façade of this hotel was unpretentious but the newly refurbished rooms had a 5 star hotel feel. Off street carpark was towards the back of the hotel building – noticed it was quite full in the late afternoon.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful. My e-mails were promptly replied to when I was making initial enquiries.
Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arddwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    202
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
276
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

No, this isn't a schwanky hotel - in fact, have done it slightly "on the cheap" during this short holiday. This place has renovated rooms, air conditioning, free wifi and movie channels, and a cooked breakfast to boot for $125 a night. Not bad, considering it's right on the fringes of the CBD. Will stay here again if we visit Launceston. The staff were very obliging and were quite engaging - really made the experience a pleasant one and can't understand why this place is so cheap! Don't be turned off by the exterior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size, very clean and with modern furnishings. Bed was very comfortable. Location is terrific. Very close to town and we had a really nice walk around the surrounding area. Guest laundry was handy and fairly cheap. Can't say enough about the very welcoming staff. We felt at home. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Free car parking, Free WIFI, coin operated laundry,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaskedWright85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Came to Launceston for a concert for one night and booked this hotel through booking.com. Not expecting much I was pleasantly surprised. Room on 4th floor with great view, air conditioner worked, as it was 27 and hot. Comfortable bed, very charming Trevor on desk and the best value $7 breakfast. My poached eggs on toast were sensational. When back in
Launceston I will stay for sure

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent 6 nights, were greeted warmly at reception and each time we met staff. Our room had great views across the city and beyond and was very spacious. The rooms have been refurbished. The beds and bedding are very good. Bathroom of good size with liquid hand soap at the basin and in the shower bodywash is provided. Wifi is free as is the parking, with plenty available. A restaurant is onsite which is open for breakfast and dinner. Everything is within walking distance..the city for shopping and good variety of restaurants, the fantastic Cataract Gorge, beautiful City Park which has delightful monkeys and the free tourist Tiger bus. Reception are very helpful and are willing to book tours if you know what you want to do...plenty of brochures are available. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked through Bookings.com, check in was "express" so off to a painless start. The hotel is a 60"s style motel building that has been refurbished. The spacious rooms have had their cement brick internal walls rendered and painted - although the paint job is a bit rough! The bathrooms are fairly tiny but clean and bright. Don't forget your toiletries because this hotel provides nothing. Once we removed the faux silk cushions and 1/4 throw from the queen size bed we were delighted with the crisp, white cotton bedlinen. The bed was very comfortable. We didn't get to sit on the Italian leather couch as we were out most of the time. The staff were pleasant, but didn't deal well with a 6.45am request for proper coffee as there were too many other things to do! The room service breakfast was harty and tasty and served on time. This visit was a catch up with relatives. The hotel provided easy access to the city and also the cultural centre at Invermay. Being Launcheston though, you are not far from any where.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room if you want to look out toward the town and the river. The back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedroMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Yes the staff is frendly n nice. Especially compare with those in Sydney . Free parking n free wifi is a selling pt also. Location is okay as 5 mins walk to the city center . Thankful that i made a good choice !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_2638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing