We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at Balmoral and definitely NOT our last!”
Review of Balmoral on York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral on York
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Second stay at Balmoral and definitely NOT our last!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel ticks all the boxes for value accommodation in Launceston. It's adjacent to the main shopping area of the city, and an easy stroll to any shop in the CBD. Despite this, it's in a reasonably quiet street and traffic noise is minimal. The rooms do not have double glazing, but probably don't need it. The rooms are reasonably austere and about average for an Australian hotel room in size. The bathroom was very well kept, and the shower effective and hot.
Coffee and tea making facilities were present, and we were pleased to note that they continue to supply "real" milk in a carton to add to it.
The TV in our room was a 32" LED flat screen Samsung, which provided excellent reception.
The bed and bedding made for a very comfortable night's sleep, and it was pleasing to see that extra pillows were provided, as I prefer I higher pillow. There is good Fujitsu A/C.
The staff are very friendly and efficient. We booked the continental breakfast with our room, and it offered an excellent choice of juices, cereals, breads and spreads. The restaurant has quite a good choice of hot breakfasts, too, and dinner is available there with a reasonably comprehensive menu for a hotel dining room.
So we left our night's stay well rested and refreshed, which is all one really asks of a hotel.
The Balmoral is a very nice place to stay. It is obvious that the staff take a pride in maintaining high standards, and we'd confidently recommend it for a stay in Launceston.
I don't think this hotel has any negatives at all. Maybe mention should be made of the car park, which slopes quite dramatically. It is probably worth being careful in choosing where to park, because if someone parked beside you let go of their door it would definitely cause damage to your vehicle. Car "spots" are nice and wide, so this is not a huge problem provided you recognize that there may be an issue and park intelligently. It really can't be fixed, so I don't blame the owners at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    216
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
290
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Like everyone else we got nice friendly service from the man behind the front desk which really does add to the place. The room on the 4th floor was fine with no issues at all. They provide a good cooked breakfast which we got in the bargain price of the room for only 130/night. Could not be beaten by any other place in town

The building does look extra boring from the outside but from the inside you look across the road at some nice old houses and a view over the city so it was quite pleasant. Very quiet at night as its not a busy town

As we stayed on a Sunday night Launceston was completely dead with no where to eat but found the AAJ Indian a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortripeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have just spent two nights at this hotel. We were at first a little surprised as were expecting a bigger room, however this was well and truly made up for by the excellent service and in particular the wonderful friendliness of the owner manager. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok but the ones on the backside of the building are alittle quieter but also a bit sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acadaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is extremely comfortable, a real home away from home. There is nothing you will be wanting for because all you have to do is ask. Super friendly staff offering superb service, great breakfasts and dinners that would easily keep you there rather than going out. Great location being so close to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remnrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Really helpful and accomodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was nice, super comfy bed, everything clean and spotless.
The breakfast is great value for money in a lovely cosy dining room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstruck53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The rooms were nice and clean and generally what you would expect from a mid priced motel. Only complaint is that the website sets an expectation which is a little more salubrious than what is on offer.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillmeister76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is owned by a former Melbournian, and him, just as the rest of his staff are super friendly, super flexible. Although we did not use the late check out, the owner offered to extend our stay until the afternoon we flew out. The rooms themselves are cozy and clean. We used the double bed and single room - with the single conveniently located in a small little cove with sufficient privacy for traveling friends and family members.
I will definitely stay here the next time I travel through Launceston.

Room Tip: We stayed on the city view side which was a bit noisier - likely due to the holiday the next day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silentjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral on York

Property: Balmoral on York
Address: 19 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral on York 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmoral on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balmoral On York Hotel Launceston
Best Western Launceston
Comfort Inn Launceston
Best Western Hotel Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Balmoral On York Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing