We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”
Review of Commodore Regent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Regent
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The location was across the street from the city park. It was a long walk to the riverfront and the gorge. We were given an upgrade in one of the lower level rooms with a view of the park. The room itself was very nice. There were no grounds to speak of. It was just a very average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momski1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    110
    45
    21
    7
See reviews for
61
80
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We travelled to Launceston for a wedding, and only stayed overnight. We were a family group and between our travelling party we had booked 4 rooms. On arrival it was mayhem. 2 rooms ready, 2 not, but the woman on check in had absolutely no idea what was going on. In the end all we could do was laugh. I never signed anything to say i was there or what room we were staying in, on check in or check out. There were others in the lobby with similar problems. One of our group was given a key to a room that already had someone else's belongings in it.

The room was ok, had a bit of a smell to it, but was clean enough. They use those wall mounted toiletries such as 2 in 1 in the shower, and hand soap which was completely empty next to the sink.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was basic but adequate.

The driveway was a nightmare for the elderly member of our party, much too steep to not have hand rail down the whole length of it.

I wouldn't stay there again based on their complete unprofessionalism.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is located across the road from the city park and an easy walk to city centre. The hotel looks tired on the outside but is in fact relatively modern inside. The overall structure appears to be the original but with a splash of paint, newish decor and facelift to the bathroom - it was adequate for the price we paid. The only downside was the shower head. It's a great shower head but positioned so low, that if you are taller than 1.70 - 1.75 metres, you would have to bend your knees to get your head wet.
The great thing we liked about this hotel was that the rooms don't get serviced everyday unless you requested it! We think more hotels should have the same policy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisemonkeysabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked our stay at the hotel through Flight Centre and expected a reasonable standard of accommodation. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the overall presentation of the room. The furniture was old and dilapidated, the walls were stained with smelly nicotine stains and the furnishings were torn and dirty. The whole place must have been in its original condition from when it was first commissioned. I don't think that hotels build in the seventieth qualify for heritage listing and one could be forgiven to think that management believe that it is a heritage property. Best avoided.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel with better standards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our last night in Tassie, we got an upstairs room at the front overlooking the park. The room was very clean, a good size and modern as was the en-suite. The bed was comfortable with a light weight quilt and plenty of pillows to choose from. They also supplied the bath gel and shampoo. The wifi was free, 300mB maximum per day.

The restaurant overlooked the park, they didn't have any Tassie cider and only one Tassie wine company to choose from which was disappointing but the wine was nice. The olive oil served with the bread was rancid (tasted like it was filtered through a wet sock). The soup entree was nice and the mains were also pretty good (1 lamb & 1 wallaby). A large group (15 - 20) came in and the rest of the restaurant was forgotten about as there were only two waitresses. We were asked if we wanted dessert, I was given the menu, nothing said by the waitress, after a long wait and much deliberation I chose a dessert to then be told that they don't make that one anymore, I couldn't be bother going through the wait again so I chose nothing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WickaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed just the one night and enjoyed it a lot. We had a premium room (#6); the room was a good size, the bed linens very good quality, the mattresses comfortable, a newish LCD tv, the shower large, very hot and strong. Although the bathroom still needs an update and the living area needs brightening up (eg. hang some colourful photos of the region), on the whole this was a very good "value for money" choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Only planned to stay one night but we liked the hotel so much we decided to stay another. Friendly and helpful staff and comfy beds. Minimal charge for kitchenette kit which was appreciated. Good location if you have kids as it is right across from city park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Property: Commodore Regent
Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast 7 days and Dinner Tuesday - Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Launceston Regent
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing