We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant one night stay”
Review of Commodore Regent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Regent
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant one night stay”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a very pleasant night stay at Commodore Regent. Our room was spacious and clean. The receptionist was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. Our concerns after reading the negative reviews were quickly forgotten as soon as we checked-in. Our unit was located on the ground floor, thus parking was just outside our unit, which was just wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank diizzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    107
    44
    21
    7
See reviews for
60
76
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Moderate hotel opposite a beautiful park. Rooms were ok, but they were conducting renovations to some rooms. About a 10 minute walk to the city centre. Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the laundry as it has a humming noise coming from it at all hours and you...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BevB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

After travelling thru southern and western Tasmania, for two weeks, with excellent accommodation, this hotel was a real letdown. This was our last night in Tasmania, we booked online two days previous. On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant, happy and most informative on the sites and airport directions. We had a room upstairs up the back section. Open the door and very disappointing. Dingy room, 1950's carpet, wall paper peeling off the wall, shower dirty, toilet from the 40's, bed and pillows lousy. Radio from the 60's buzzed all night, ended up covering with a pillow. A gruby room could not wait to leave in the morning. Would not bother going back. With Tasmania so clean the places we visited and stayed, something should be done about this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotels on the west coast are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Our last night in Tasmania was a real disappointment because of this awful accommodation, the bed & pillows were lumpy, it was old & very dirty, the bathroom was disgusting & the sponge & teatowel in the kitchenette were dirty, the lady next door decided to have a cigarette right outside our open window, one of the maintenance men was really rude when we arrived but the receptionists were really pleasant.

Room Tip: Give this one a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb_1968_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

After travelling for 2 weeks with my husband and another couple, this was the hotel we booked for our last night in Tasmania, and how disapointing it was.
We had 2 rooms at the back of the property,1 of the rooms was terribly dirty, the tea towel was disgusting and crusty,the sponge on offer was brown and dripping wet and smelly,left in the cupboard sitting in its own filth.
Our room,wasnt too bad as far as being moderately clean,however when it came to having a much earnt shower,the shower did not drain,therefore you were standing in god knows whats as it all backed up in the shower...gross,that then took 40mins to drain.
I would not give this dwelling favourable remarks to anyone wishing to try it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Commodore Regent is a very good option when looking for a place to stay in Hobart that wont break the bank. I was pleasantly surprised because I was not expecting much for their advertised rate. Our family of 3 stayed here for $123, which included breakfast ($98 with no breakfast). The rooms are very clean, spacious and the beds are comfortable. Our room had a great view of the Botanical Gardens. Location is great. Each room has a broadband connection but only good for a laptop. You have to pay for wifi access, which is a bit of a letdown. The bathrooms are large but a bit dated. The TV is very small with a separate set-top box. Breakfast is the basic cereal, toast, and coffee set. I overheard the manager telling a guest that they have just taken over the place so may be a few improvements are coming. Overall the Commodore Regent is a very good option.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

From a great greeting & location we were let down by a few take for granted items ie toaster crockery utensils simple stuff was an extra fee when enquired .
We paid an extra $5 for these items .
When beds made up same sheets used
And our childrens beds left unmaid.
Restaurant too dear .
Other than this an overall good
experience clean & safe and undergoing renovations may explain a few things .
I would recommend but explaining shortcomings .
Sure worse could easily be found in launceston

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueybrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comreg, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Hello Blueybrink,

Thank you for your feed back.

We are not a self contained motel however due to a high demand of requests we have recently introduced kitchenette kits available for hire at a cost of $5.00 for the length of the stay.This fee covers the cost of breakages ,cleaning and initial purchasing costs.

Full linen changes are made every 3rd day. We do apologise that your childrens beds were overlooked during your stay.

We are glad to hear you would recommend us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Property: Commodore Regent
Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Launceston Regent
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing