We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise.”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Beautiful room and spacious. Lovely bathroom. Luxurious bedding. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.
Can't wait to visit Launceston again, just to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    194
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
77
309
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed two nights at Clarion City Park Grand and were delighted with the high standard of the accommodation and staff who know the true meaning of service. We chose the hotel through TripAdvisor and initially were a little hesitant after seeing the location on Google Earth. However the hotel is in a great position. Larceny Restaurant was very good. This was a leisure booking for my husband and myself however as I spend 6 months of the year travelling on business and staying at 4-5* hotels within Australia and Asia, I know what makes a good hotel. City Park Grand is an exceptional hotel and highly recommended. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed for two nights. The reception and restaurant staff were very professional and efficient. The furnishings are lovely and the property is very well maintained. Free parking, extra bits in the room eg sewing kit, razor, comb, toothbrush etc and a free DVD/VCR library. Centrally located so an easy walk into the main shopping centre of Launceston.

We found the rooms to be noisey, we stayed in the main building (room 25), the windows are double glazed but not sealed properly so there is a lot of traffic noise from outside. Also the building is heritage listed and the floors must be the originals in some places. We could here the people in the room above us moving about and were woken up at 5am by our ceiling squeaking and someone walking around the room above.

The restaurant is very nice - food is good, nice quality and well presented but maybe a little overpriced. The desserts are great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed one night on a business trip in April. Booked a King room and was upgraded to a Spa suite which was much appreciated. Room was in the old stable conversion and I was on the ground floor overlooking the carpark. Because of the internal door that 6 other rooms used in my section it was extremely noisy with people banging doors, talking etc. I was woken up rather early because of this. My colleague stayed in the main section of the hotel and didn't have any problems with noise.

Free parking was a plus and location was great.

Other than that - the room was very nice. Plush bed linen and nice furnishings. Flat screen TV. Very large bathroom with corner spa, large shower and double sinks.

Although we didn't eat in there - the restaurant looked really lovely. Staff very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay again -but next time request a room in the Stables that wasn't on the ground floor.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmegmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed at the City Park Grand for two nights recently. We were in a room in "The Stables". The room was lovely, clean and quiet, however it is up a flight of stairs (no lift) so that is a bit of an inconvenience for some but it wasn't a problem for us. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and well stocked with complimentary bits and pieces - razors, toothbrushes, sewing kits along with the usual soaps & shampoos. The spa was great and the room had complimentary robes and slippers. We had dinner one night at "Larceny" - the hotel's restaurant - the food was fantastic, very reasonably priced and the service could not be faulted. Breakfast in the mornings was $15 for a continental breakfast - good food however the choice is fairly limited. The hotel is very close to the botanic gardens which is well worth a look. The hotel staff were all polite, friendly and efficient - couldn't ask for better!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieDarcyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting the Tamar Valley region and Launceston. The staff were very organised and friendly and made our stay very comfortable. We stayed in the deluxe room which was super clean, modern, very large and very reasonably priced. The furnishings were tasteful and the location was great - right next to the Boags Brewery. A great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night with three other people on our first night in Tasmania. Although we quickly discovered Launceston was not really worth a visit, this hotel made up for it. The staff were warm and friendly and the hotel interior was very well made up. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy. Absolutely loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again. The only negative, as previous review had mentioned, was that there's no lift. Although this was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
4.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#4 of 30 in Launceston
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Property: Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Address: 22 Tamar St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing