We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty is only skin deep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

on the surface it looks like a really nice hotel, decor is modern, bedrooms are modern, the TV is big. They have lots of pillows and the extras like toothpaste and real coffe is nice.
But stay more than 10 mins you realise its over priced. The walls are paper thin. There is no lift. The floors creak. The A/C is too small for the room size, which in summer means its too hot. The windows dont open.
The street side can be quite noisy and adjacent businesses leave on some big neon signs all night, but the curtains do block it out.

Room Tip: The stables, at the rear are better than above the restraunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank michaelhbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 568 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our room was in The Stables with free parking at the door. The exterior was heritage but once through the door we were in modern comfort. Everything we needed was provided, including wifi. Our room was spacious and very clean. Sleep quality was excellent and bathroom provided all anyone could want. Even though our room faced the road we had no noise problems. This hotel will be our base in Launceston for future travel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clemim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Room was lovely, other than creaking floors and carrying bags up three levels as apparently heritage buildings don't have lifts.
The restaurant however was a nightmare, with our waitress forgetting us several times and another couple seated at an adjacent table fifteen minutes after us receiving their meals and had left before our meals arrived.
At a nearby table a group had two small children who ran and screamed for over an hour , with neither the family or restaurant staff doing anything to stop them.
I said to my wife, I thought quietly enough, "please let them go home" at which time one of the children's family heard me and said " they are only children why don't you have some patience" I said if we were in McDonald's I would, however this is a restaurant and it would be nice if you would at least try to keep them quiet.
At this stage she started yelling that it was disgusting that she and her family should be treated like this.
The hotel receptionist then arrived and without any knowledge of what had happened and without a single word to us, apologised to the family and the kids for our attitude.
We left our meals unfinished and with our waitress who had witnessed the children's behaviour, apologising to us and offering deserts to be sent to our room, to speak to the woman in reception.
The receptionist then explained to us that despite we being guests of the hotel and the other party being casual visitors to the restaurant, any amount of noise or inconvenience that they made was acceptable as this was a family restaurant and that we should have been more tolerant.
When checking out the next day and commenting on what had happened, the manager stated angrily,“I am well aware of the problems that you caused in our restaurant last night”
The manager said that she had the statements of her staff and wasn't interested in anything we had to say.
I commented that if after more than an hour of listening to kids running and screaming, the restaurant staff had simply asked the family to control their children I wouldn't have had to say anything, the manager responded that there was no need to ask them to stop as they were only dancing.
The wonders of perception, according to the manager, in the statements of her staff, the children were making no noise at all, they were merely dancing, the children's family did not yell insults at us, our waitress did not offer to deduct the cost of dinner from our account (it was then
falsely alleged that we had refused to sign the account when asked), our waitress did not offer to have complementary desserts delivered to our room and our waitress did not say that she had a child of her own and would never let them behave as these children had.
We apparently without any provocation at all, insulted valued guests, refused to finish our meals and abused the staff.
The hotel itself was very nice, the staff however were hostile and very rude.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank john h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cityparkgrand, Manager at Clarion Hotel City Park Grand, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

The Clarion Hotel City Park Grand welcomes families to our Accommodation & Restaurant.
Restaurant staff did not feel there was a problem with noise or behaviour from the family and were only allerted to a problem from your loud exchange with the family.
As explained to you at Reception Management had spoken to all staff and also other diners and am totally satisfied with staff response to yourself and the family. Your version of events do not tally at all with those of staff, other diners and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel and were very impressed with the way the old hotel has been beautifully renovated. It has all the mod cons but retains a lovely elegance and charm. It is an easy 10 minute walk to the centre of town. The free parking is convenient and free wifi was a bonus. There is no lift so if you are physically challenged or carry to much heavy baggage like us you may want to seek hotel assistance if you score a room on the top floor. We would definitely stay here again if and when in Launceston.

Room Tip: The two rooms we saw were fine, one on the top floor and one on the first floor. If you don't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balmainiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Spent one night here for Festivale. The hotel is very close to City Park and ideal for Festivale.

The room was large and well appointed. Bathroom was large with double basins and lots of toiletries. Everything was clean and comfortable.

Air conditioning however did not seem to work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had one of the best night sleep here while in Tasmania. The room was spacious and impeccably clean. Sheets were fresh and of a good thread count. The windows are boarded up and hence it's only air conditioning. Though I must say that the air on was a bit weak for a summers afternoon though it got alright in the night.

Need to highlight that because it is a "heritage" status hotel, there are no lifts and you might need to request for help to carry your luggage to level 2 if your room is there. Else ask for a ground floor room in the adjoining wing.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank graciepapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Quality, well appointed room, clean,quiet and you get what you-pay-for as not cheap. Parking spaces tight but close by and meals adequate but not as great as the decor and ambience of the place. Would return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lazuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
932 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Address: 22 Tamar St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $108 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing