We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Heritage Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed twice in the month of January : pre and post "The Bay of Fires" walk. I choose it due to wanting an authentic, heritage building atmosphere and something relatively close to our pick up point. The hotel was a classic, heritage hotel and quite lovely. I think this style of hotel is not suitable for everyone as we had to carry out suitcase up two flights of narrow stairs. The room was nice - adequate ; however not memorable. Our second stay, we were placed in another building called "The Stables', these rooms were of a much higher spec (I am not sure if we were upgraded as we were not told and too tired after our walk to ask!) and quite roomy and would be a better option, if you were staying more than one night. The Stable rooms were very generous in size and had well fitted out rooms, with all that you needed. A better option if you wanted to avoid the steep narrow stairs. Good sleep and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 566 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean and comfortable hotel in a great location for Launceston's sights. We could walk to restaurants for dinner, to the pretty City Park, the great Harvest Markets on Saturday morning and the Design Tasmania Centre. We also enjoyed a walk along the river down to the Cataract George. We didn't eat at the hotel - but really appreciated the complimentary coffee and biscuits in the lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

When I rang the Clarion and asked for a "quiet room" (after seeing other comments that the hotel could be noisy) I was told by the receptionist that this was not a problem. What she did not tell me was that there was a street festival taking place directly outside the hotel for two of the three nights we were staying. When we returned to the hotel on the Friday night, the bass had been cranked up to the extent that the windows in our room were vibrating. When I rang reception, we were assured that the music would stop very soon and that we did not need to worry since the festival was finishing earlier the following night. However, the music did not stop and eventually my partner went down to talk to the manager. He was told that all the staff were going home (there was no one on the premises over night) and that we could leave if we wanted to. He was quite unsympathetic and said that he did not think that the noise was too bad (although he refused to come over to our room to experience it first hand). At this stage some of the people attending the festival seemed a bit worse for wear and one of them appeared to be either urinating or vomiting in the hotel carpark. We decided to leave and go to another hotel. We later learned that the festival continued much later the following night and so we were confident that we had made the right decision.

I feel that we should have been told that there was a street festival taking place directly outside the hotel for two of the three nights that we intended to stay at the time of booking. It was also very annoying that the manager would not acknowledge that the music from the festival was impacting on guests staying in the stables at the back of the hotel adjacent to the street where the festival was taking place. It was also concerning that there were no members of the hotel staff on duty overnight in the event of trouble (which could well have occurred given the inebriated condition of some of the festival goers).

In all honesty, I would not recommend this hotel!!! We went to Launceston for our wedding anniversary and,although our experience of Launceston improved significantly after moving to the Grand Chancellor hotel, this was not a good way to start the weekend!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lolawigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cityparkgrand, Manager at Clarion Hotel City Park Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We are sorry you were inconvenienced when staying at our property during your stay in Launceston. We did consider the Stable room you were allocated to be far away from the street and the music finishing at 10.30pm sharp to have not impacted too much on your stay, it is unfortunate this was not the case. Our records of your initial complaint were to an after hours receptionist who advised you the finish time of the music and also this was a two day festival and if you were not happy you could make other arrangements and there would be no accommodation charge. It was not until 10.20pm that you rang on your phone and Management answered, again management apologised for your inconvenience when you advised you were departing the property and asked where to leave the key card. The phones are manned 24 hours, and a presence on the property is only five minutes away. The festival also had security monitoring at the entrance to the property during the fesitval, and we are happy to report there were no problems and indeed no other complaints from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked room based on Trip Advisor. Happy to report our room was spacious and very comfortable.
We had one room, that we shared with teen son. Being Jan school hols, accom not so easy to find. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Bld is heritage, so no lifts. We had room on 2nd floor, with a number of steps. Beds all very good. Bathroom large, modern and very clean. Good furnishings made all of us comfortable. Work desk for business if needed. No open windows a down-side for me. I don't like to sleep in air conditioning all night. (Jan can get hot in Launceston, and it was hot for us). Parking onsite. Continental Breakfast basic but good. All you need to get you going. Launceston closes down early. Had dinner out, but noticed many patrons dining in. Walk to most things, and close to shops: A few streets away. Recommended.

Room Tip: No lifts. Heritage building, but modern rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptip4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for two nights in January. Upon arriving from a long tiring trip, was warmly welcomed and was upgraded to one of the apartments. The apartment was beautiful, king size bed ,comfortable leather lounge, writing desk, big bathroom, large flat screen tv, free foxtel, free movies. All this for $320 for the two nights. The young lady at the desk was just so friendly and helpful. Beautiful old hotel and spotless. Best hotel in Tasmania!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela16573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a one night stay here before flying back to the mainland. There were 3 of us and the room was lovely- very large and spotless but quite expensive ($215)(Had booked online and even though booking stated it was for 3 was charged another $40 for an extra child) Hotel is in an excellent location and good walking distance to many attractions. Our room faced Tamar street and there was a lot of noise at night from traffic and passers by talking. Found main bed a little too soft for our liking but that's just a personal preference. Daughter was very comfortable in her single bed. Shower was great.

Room Tip: Try a room in "The Stables" section which is at the back of the complex and may be quieter...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights two weeks ago. On checking-in, even though we didn’t ask for it, the receptionist insisted that she get someone to carry our two suitcases up to our room, so that was an immediate good start. Our room, in the old stables building, turned out to be large, well furnished, spotlessly clean and totally quiet.

As it happened, we were there for the opening night of the hotel's new restaurant, now renamed The Park Grill, I think. When we went down to book a table, mid-afternoon, Terry Fidler and his team were still putting the menu together.

Three hours later, you wouldn’t have known it was a first night. Everything seemed to go ultra-smoothly, and our meal was delicious – particularly my beef eye-fillet, which was perfect, with just the right hint of a smoky flavour. And our table staff were extremely personable and professional, particularly the Restaurant Manager, (sorry, I’ve forgotten his name). The only (tiny) negative that occurred to us, was that clearly the new team will have a bit of challenge ahead of them in trying to create ambiance and character in a room that is, basically, functional rather than rich with atmosphere.

We considered the City Park Grand a real find – it’s conveniently located, central but certainly not noisy, and good value overall. We'd certainly hope to stay there again on any future visits to Launceston.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
902 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Address: 22 Tamar St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $113 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing