We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for a weekend trip to Aurora for the Hawks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a weekend trip to Aurora for the Hawks”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Having found the hotel via TripAdvisor, I'm happy to contribute a positive review for the Clarion. We arrived at 10:15am expecting to leave bags and return later but the room was ready. Room was comfortable and stylish, there was space for our stuff in the fridge, beds were great, lots of space. The staff were friendly and helpful ... all the time. We ate breakfast at the hotel too and found that to be pretty good (punctuated by the pancake machine - yum). A short stroll into the city and an even shorter stroll to Aurora to watch the mighty Hawks smash the Roos. Buddy kicked 13 and we had a great stay. Thanks Clarion folk. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Hotel is on three levels with no lift (which didn't bother us, but people might be inconvenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy_Franklin_Mania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    189
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
77
306
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very surprised at how great this place was. Big screen tv, ihome dock for iPhone, toiletries under the sink had everything including makeup pads and razor. Rooms clean and had foxtel. Great breakfast and staff very friendly. Ate at the Larceny restaurant one night for dinner which also quite good. Comfy bed, nice size bathroom, quiet. Lobby area also has tv, papers and comfy couches. Only downfall was no wifi in room only cable. There was also free off street parking with undercover option. Definitely a great find.

Room Tip: No elevator but staff help with bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay overnight in Launceston and after looking at reviews booked at the Clarion and we were very happy with our choice. We arrived in Launceston early as we had a wedding to attend and didn't expect to get our room but the helpful staff at reception said they would ensure it was cleaned. It was ready when we returned from walking up the street and having coffee at the Farmers Marketnthat we stumbled across.

The room was spacious with a double and single as my husband and I were travelling with our daughter. There was nothing I could fault, the room was spotlessly clean, well equipped with a flat screen TV. There were many bathroom products provided and I was pleasantly surprised to find toothbrushes as I had forgotten mine. The one thing that really impressed us was the warmth of the room. Having been to Launceston before I was aware of how cold it gets at night this time of the year. Our room was at a constant temperature throughout our stay and we didnt have to use the heating/cooling facility in the room. The hotel is very well located to the city and the park. We didn't have a car and were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We will have no hesitation retuning if we need to stay overnight in Launceston in the future.

Room Tip: Room 36 had a double and a single In a good sized room. It was on 3rd floor and there were stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiTravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for a business trip. Room 34 is on the second level, yes there are stairs but staff are willing to help carry bags up. Room was clean, and tastefully decorated. I love that they catered for ladies by having makeup removal pads under the sink and a hairdryer that actually works. Enjoyed the Ipod player and flat-screen TV. Helped me to unwind after a day at work. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars, was one of the staff forgot to knock before they entered my room, which obviously scared and shocked me! He did apologise and realized his mistake as he went knocking the other doors later. Good intentions as they wanted to put the heater on for arriving guests, however....I was already in the room. Despite that, I would definitely stay here again. Very close to the city with a 8 min walk!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chi-chak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Used this hotel for one night prior to transferring to walk the Overland Track.

The positives. I had a great room. Large. Very comfortably furnished. A really comfortable bed (and pillows). Great (and big) bathroom with good toiletries. One of the best hotel rooms I have stayed in during the past 4 years.

Also on the positives - service at reception on arriving and leaving was friendly, prompt and courteous throughout. The hotel is a refurbished old hotel oppositer Boags Brewery. There is (in the main building where I stayed) an old time character and lovely ambience throughout. While I did not have a car there appears to be ample free parking (check).

Location - the hotel does not have views as such and is about 10min level walking from the Launceston CBD. I get the impression that this is pretty similar for most hotel options in Launceston.

Caution - in the main building there are no lifts - be prepared to carry your bages up stairs and perhaps ask for a room on the 1st floor.

There is a pleasant lounge/bar/breakfast room area. I used this for both dinner and breakfast and the ambience was fine. The service was also friendly on both occasions. The breakfast itself was average and the evening meal was ... ok ..... nothing remarkable and not particularly cheap. Next time I would find an alternative for dinner.

I would definitely stay here again for the great room and very good service.

Room Tip: I had room 35 and found it excellent. A double with king size bed and in the main building. Be awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel was fantastic! If has such a great cozy feel. The building is very heritage and so well looking after yet with all modern features! The rooms are very spacious with modern decor but still keeping the heritage feel. It has free Internet, free parking. The restaurant was lovely and the service was 5 star. It's close to the city park and the mall area. I really enjoyed my stay here and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyMcGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Travelled as a couple to Launceston for the AFL footy and stayed at City Park. It is an old renovated place so the rooms are tight but very well presented. It had the vibe and the location. Walking distance to everything, water front, footy venue and some night life. We were in the main hotel and enjoyed our stay. Plenty of free car parking. Only problem was no free WiFi!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4010TravelTimeOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Property: Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Address: 22 Tamar St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing