We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Charming room’s decor was lovely with comfortable beds and quite
Mini bar fridge and tea and coffee making facilities
We found the hotel was in a great position - no lift to upper floors

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Janie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 568 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed in an up stairs deluxe room for two nights, room was very clean and quite large, Staff are very friendly and willing to assist. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was large and clean, Room is also quiet. Also has an iphone dock clock radio beside the bed. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peters104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent one night at the Clarion in Launceston recently. A spa room in the stables. It was clean and tidy. Well appointed furniture, heaps of space, a large comfortable king bed.
Staff at reception were friendly and courteous.
No noise from the street or carpark. Walking distance to city and surrounds, would also be ideal when football is on at Aurora Stadium.

I have stayed at a number of places in and around Launceston and would not hesitate to stay at the Clarion when next staying in Launceston.

Room Tip: Request the stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have stayed here several times now, in what used to be the stables and above the main building. Both rooms have been excellent with everything we required for our overnight stay in Launceston on business. The restaurant was fabulous with great staff and food was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Looking around for somewhere to stay in Launceston, my Mum and I came across the Clarion Hotel City Park Grand and couldn't have been happier with the two nights we spent here! We got a spacious, comfortable, modern room over in the Stables Block. The bathroom was fantastic, beds comfortable and just an overall great experience. The Staff at reception were very helpful and the restaurant was GREAT (a special mention to the Staff at the restaurant who were very helpful and friendly). Unfortunately the Gym was having maintenance work done whilst we were there, and although I would have loved to have used it, it did not take away from the great time we had at the hotel!

The location of the hotel is well within walking distance to the City, Seaport and Cataract Gorge.

If i were to visit Launceston again, I would definitely want to come back to the Clarion City Hotel Park Grand!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3PinkLady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The refurbishment didnt include updating the staff who couldnt find our booking;
then put us 2 floors up, and no lift. We had booked spa suite, as I have a muscle problem and knew a bath would help. No bath in the room they found us. I rang reception and she said she'd find another and would come up to help us move.
We were taken across to the "stables" block and a lovely spa suite, on the ground floor beside the parking.
I had just settled down for a nap when the phone rang. It was reception telling us they were sorry about what had happened but "someone" had cancelled the original booking

Dont know why we had to be given an excuse., and be woken unnecessarily !!

So advice to folks booking here: book through a third party, so you have booking proof, and insist on getting the room you paid for. I would also NOT recommend the original building; ask for the Stables Block.

The airconditioner over the bed was a bit of a disaster. The room was very stuffy, but the window could not be left securely open a little bit, so we did not sleep well on such a warm night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2oldhobartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have stayed here twice now and each time I have gotten a different room, but the same timeless luxury in each.

Rooms are gorgeous and beds are lovely and comfortable. Large bathrooms were great with all sorts of amenities, like tooth brush, tooth paste, comb, very old school style of hotel elegance.

The receptionists were all really lovely and helpful and the hotel is quite close to everything. Only a couple of minutes drive from anywhere.

Only downside for me was the breakfast as it is $23 per person, and we didn't really think the variety justified the price.

Overall a great hotel and I will be back,

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minerva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
927 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel City Park Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel City Park Grand

Address: 22 Tamar St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly City Park Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Family Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $108 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel City Park Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand offers boutique accommodation in downtown Launceston. Located next to City Park, it is 10 minutes walk to Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery.All spacious rooms at Clarion City Park Launceston feature en suite bathroom, air conditioning and flat-screen cable TV. Some rooms also have balcony, microwave and whirlpool bathtub.Facilities include a guest laundry, free high-speed Wireless internet access and free car parking. Guests can enjoy free coffee and weekday newspapers.Larceny's Bar and Restaurant features local produce and a large wine selection. Room service is also available.Clarion Hotel City Park Grand is in the heart of the entertainment, museums and shopping districts of central Launceston. Boag’s Brewery is a 2-minute walk. Aurora Stadium is 750 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel City Park Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Grand Launceston
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing