We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Capers

Pizza Capers
Ranked #92 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

There is a choice for everyone. Best pizzas in Launceston. Eat in and Take away is available...delicious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Soggy Mush”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Pizza has been an Australian favourite for centuries. The combination of both bread and your favourite toppings make for a truly delicious experience enjoyed by all. Pizza is responsible for the cherished memories of hundreds of thousands of people around the world. Because of this formidable reputation, pizza companies have a duty to maintain the quality and fulfil the starving mouths of the hungry individual. Pizza Capers is an Australia food organisation originating in 1996 in Brisbane aiming to combat the current overflow of 'cheap and nasty junk food'. However, this qualified investigation will show that their aim to leave the cheap and nasty junk food behind has utterly failed, if anything, it has joined them.

It was the 14th of June 2014, when we decided to order some Pizzas to fill our hungry bellies. The options were: Domino’s pizza, delicious but fairly small portions. Crust, very nice and good sized pizzas as well, and finally, Pizza Capers, a pizza takeaway shop I had had but wanted to try. I can tell you now that it was the single worst Pizza of my life. It wasn’t just one pizza that went bad, all 4 of them did. Firstly, the Aussie had way to much egg and the bacon was of a very low class. Most importantly, the Pizzas looked as if they were hosed down in grease, the boxes were dripping and the pizzas were very soggy. I don’t know how you can stuff up a Hawaiian but they did majorly. I am also not sure how you can manage to totally ignore what you first set out to do. ‘the convenience food market was overflowing with cheap and nasty 'junk' food. There was a real need for change,’ (Pizza Capers, 2012). They aim to leave the junk food and make something healthy and still tasty but have utterly failed. I have gone out of my way to write this and am here to warn you so you don't have to go through such a horrible experience. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stiefel304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor amount of topping, low quality for price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Ordered a Margarita with extra sauce. Was extremely dry and lacking herbs or flavour. Very disappointed. And ordered a BBQ chicken, was told that consisted of chicken,onion and cheese with BBQ sauce. I ordered extra sauce bacon,mushroom and pineapple . Extremely disappointed with this very very scarce in toppings sauce or flavour! Absolute waste of money!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephMaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong West, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food allergy friendly - yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just ordered take away pizza and pasta from Pizza Capers Launceston and am ecstatic. Firstly, manager Kim provided friendly service and catered easily for my vegan partner. But the big delight was when Kim and I discussed my particular preference for pasta without a crreme or tomato sauce. She was willing to give my suggestion of an olive oil base a go and then went out of her way to let me know that the dish had pesto which contained dairy - I have a dairy allergy.
On top of the excellent customer service, the dish was DELICIOUS! To anyone - especially with food allergies - who is looking for pizza or pasta, Pizza Capers in Launceston THE place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza and good customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely pizzas and pastas! Get takeaway from here quite often and am yet to be disappointed by food or service. Gluten free options which are actually nice!

Helpful?
Thank Socks89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Capers also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Pizza Capers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing