We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasps”
Review of Sporties Hotel

Sporties Hotel
Ranked #161 of 306 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Modern twist on some traditional pub classics that will not disappoint. All locally sourced produce, with friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Kick back to Live and loud HD sports in the bar or relax in the bistro with a drink and your favourite Sporties counter meal. Monday - Pint & Parmi $15 Tuesday - 8 Ball Culcutta Competition Wednesday - Trivia Night Friday, Saturday, Sunday - Live music and sport
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wasps”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent menu which included a wonderful gluten free range. Ate outside on a lovely evening. but got hassled by a few mischievous wasps that seemed very interested in our food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    7
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's all in the sauce”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great mushroom sauce steak cooked to perfection. Even the salad came with a good vinaigrette. Accompanied by the crunchiest French fries I've had in a long time. I will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickSurLaRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had no booking but were received in a very friendly way and a table was found for us very quickly. We enjoyed a lovely meal - Duck a l'orange and Rolled pork loin. Both meals were very good and of a generous size. The service was very good and we would visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TassieBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best parma in town”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This review is for the bar menu at Sporties, not Le Bistro. The parma is absolutely fantastic! It was so good, I came back 3 nights in a row for it. Excellent chicken, lovely ham and the sauce is delicious. Great little salad on the side and awesome chips. $17 - good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The restaurant has been revamped since our last visit, and is now re-branded as traditional french cuisine.
We both enjoyed our different meals, lamb and pork, as they were nicely cooked.
The service was excellent, and the prices were on the higher side of reasonable.(meaning-nothing to complain about.)
Overall, a very enjoyable evening was had.
We will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sporties Hotel also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Sporties Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing