We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge and delicious”
Review of The Prickly Cactus

The Prickly Cactus
Ranked #34 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 03 6334 0584
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Huge and delicious”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

If I could give this a 4.5 I would. It's not a 5 but it's great food, massive value (because the meals are huge) and was a great experience considering how dead Launceston was everywhere else. Would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    91
    49
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food in Launceston”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great food and the host is fantastic! Just make sure you book in advance or you won't get in. It's so popular. The restaurant is right in the heart of Launceston so it's very easy to get to. And there's a multistorey car park behind if you need parking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

there was something for the whole family. No fussing over not having anything to eat!!!! Delicious food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaJVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in a restaurant full of life”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My partner and I ate a fantastic meal here. We both ordered beef fajitas and they were very tender, hot and sizzling on the plate and served with beautiful fresh lettuce, beans, sour cream, guacamole and cheese. The tacos were hot and soft and beautiful, and we both ate every morsel. The wine list was very good too. I had a glass of pinot noir and my partner had a beer. The service here is very friendly and fast and they all seem to get on well too. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I hadn't been here for about 10 years. It is as good as ever!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerningtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced for simple food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very cheap offerings loaded with corn chips and minimal additions. Overpriced to the max. Wine list abysmal. Maybe a good party venue if you want to get pissed on fish bowls

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank MarciaLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prickly Cactus also viewed

 

Been to The Prickly Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing