We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had the Mixed Fried entree and the BBQ Pork Stir Fry.

Entree was spot on - not oily, and very tasty. Normally I'm not a big fan of the items included, however, this was spot on. Mini Spring Roll, Curry Puff and some sort of battered meatball.

The stir fry was also on the money, lots of well cooked but still crispy vegetables, and thin slices of BBQ pork. Lovely sauce, meal was spot on.

Highly recommend.

Oh, and lots of diners appeared to be of same part of the world as the owners - always a good sign!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dVaridel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Loved the Dumplings. Would have liked to try the 3 pot chicken but it was not available. :( I had the Chicken with lemongrass, which was beautiful but had hot spots of chilli, which I did not like. My partner had the seafood, which was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful food at a great price”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had a typical sweet and sour pork, but my friend had the Bhaking beef filet and it was wonderful! The staff were very friendly and attentive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tassie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

After my last experience of not being able to order my choice of food as take away, I met up with a friend for dinner.
I had already decided that I wanted the Shaking Eye Fillet and it looked tasty when the plate arrived. The meet melted in the mouth and had incredible flavour. The apple complimented it perfectly but unfortunately there were thick layers of raw white onion that spoiled it all for me. It would have been great had the onions been caramelised or, at the very least, been cooked through.
The service was impeccable, such friendly and attentive staff, such a shame the food didn't quite hit the spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Sylvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible value!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The restaurant is immediately welcoming as you come off the street. The staff are so friendly and attentive. The food is top notch, I recommend the prawn and mango entree! The seating space isn't large which allows a quiet atmosphere.

Has to be one of the best restaurants in Launceston!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Kings Meadows, Launceston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing