We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent affordable meal”
Review of Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $35
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent affordable meal”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We dined here before a show the other day the service was great as was the meal. It was delivered in good time so we had plenty of time to eat before going to the show even had te for a good bottle of wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colinglenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The environment is not upmarket however makes up for it with lovely food, attentive service, good cocktail/wine list and all very reasonably priced.
I went as part of a work function and was pleasantly surprised. Will definately be back with my hubby next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayla01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipers River, Tasmania, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We're just back from celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary at Minh Buu. We really enjoyed the experience. The food was great and the service was excellent. There was only one thing that annoyed me and that was that covering the lovely table cloths were sheets of white paper! A bit of a tacky look. Recommended though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tomato scrambled eggs!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Loved the Asian themed cocktails. I ordered the "tomato scrambled eggs". Yum! Serves gr8 & food superb!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canh H, Owner at Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thankyou Victoria for you positive review
we look forward to seeing you next time,
hopefully you will enjoy many more cocktail and gr8 food next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having read the reviews I was anticipated really good chinese food. While the service was great and the staff very amenable, the visit was let down by fairly ordinary food. Lacking flavour, not very large serves, somewhat disappointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LorenzoT798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canh H, Owner at Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
the size and quantity of food on a plate from an indian restaurant and a chinese restaurant is by far. I think you just like curry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minh Buu Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Invermay, Launceston
Kings Meadows, Launceston
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing