We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisbane Street Bistro

Brisbane Street Bistro
Reserve with
Brisbane Street Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone No +61 (03) 6333 0888
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely old building, warm on a cold evening. Full on a Thursday night. The food was interesting, well cooked and nicely presented. Our young male waiter was delightful and knowledgeable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJ_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    49
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss @ Brisbane St. Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

In my top 5 for Launceston dining - brilliant food from the talented & creative Terry Fidler.

Accommodating a table of 9, at short notice, when the restaurant was virtually fully booked, Terry kindly rearranged the tables & looked after us impeccably.

Despite a full restaurant, we had faultless service, a fusion of flavours that can only be achieved by the best chefs in the industry.

Thanks Terry, we will be returning, time & time again - pure bliss!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heads-up-launceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at it's best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Brisbane Street Bistro has my approval.
Looks from the outside (it is located in a heritage listed building in Launceston's CBD) are deceiving; inside has a relaxed but elegant atmosphere.
We were greeted at the door by staff and his professionalism was of exceptional standard.
We had the degustation menu (a taster of 6-7 dishes) and it was divine! The waiter introduced each dish as it was presented to us and it was thoroughly enjoyable. While the courses were small and delicate; we left feeling full and satisfied!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fine food and wine but not too pretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been here a few times and always find great menu choices and delicious food. Wait staff are some of the most professional that I have come across.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not nearly as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice building with quite cosy atmosphere, unfortunately the food was fairly ordinary and overpriced for the quality. My meat dishes did not taste freshly cooked. Quail dish was soggy rather than crispy. Lamb shoulder rather dry and over shredded. Aged steak and vegetarian dishes were better. Service nothing special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brisbane Street Bistro also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Brisbane Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing