We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larceny Restaurant

Larceny Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Grill, Diner, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Larceny restaurant has an emphasis on local ingredients & seasonality, with a simple & uncomplicated approach to cooking.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had dinner for two, the menu had enough choice and with a side it was a perfectly sized meal with good portions and delicious flavours. The staff were friendly and fast to serve. We had a lovely cozy warm seat next to the artificial fireplace on a really cold night and the atmosphere was relaxing. The prices were a bit more expensive than I'd normally pay but I feel regardless that it was certainly good value for money!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    93
    31
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rod S. "One of the best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stay at the Clarion 3 or 4 times a year so this was my 6th or 7th meal here, all of which had been fantastic however tonight's meal was absolutely superb! I had the Pork cutlet with spinach and blue cheese tossed through it, baby carrots, special potato rings and a seeded mustard sauce, Wow! The pork was cooked to perfection, moist and sweet, backed up by the fantastic veg and the sauce. I spoke with the chef and he informed me the pork was sourced locally and is always of a high quality. Nice fellow and willing to back up his skills with open discussion. Great place and will be back many more times.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food, very comfortable restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful meals, very comfortable seating, lovely wait staff who are very attentive! Always happy to make it that bit extra special for birthdays. More people should dine here - it is a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My new favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner for two with excellent service. All courses looked and tasted outstanding. My favourite - Oysters with Citrus Sherbert. Good value, will go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were staying at the Clarion on Tamar Street and arriving on a Sunday night struggled to find a decent restaurant opened on a Sunday evening. We ended up going to the restaurant at our motel and we were simply thrilled with the meals. A credit to the chef, they were simply divine! The two young ladies on service were completely rushed off their feet and they both admitted that it normally wasn't that busy on a Sunday. To their credit they served with a smile, regularly attended everyone's table and no one was neglected. We gave each a decent tip and we noticed that another table after us did the same. Well done girls. Our compliments to the chef as well. Food was well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larceny Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Larceny Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing