We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good meals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larceny Restaurant

Larceny Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Grill, Diner, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Larceny restaurant has an emphasis on local ingredients & seasonality, with a simple & uncomplicated approach to cooking.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very good meals, reasonable prices, good service, good wine list. I have got a well done steak - as recommendation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    93
    31
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed the night at this hotel and strangely were only offered one cooked breakfast in this B&B for 2 adults. I had to pay for my Continental breakfast in addition to the room. There was a good variety of choice in fruit, cereals, pancakes and toast.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TriciaB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Didn't quite hit the mark!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The good here is nice but not amazing. At our table we had pork belly which was supposed to have crispy skin but didn't and the vegetables stated on the menu didn't all appear on the plate. We also had snapper with a soft herb crust and beurre blanc sauce plus fish scales and a bone as well as extra veges that were we think were meant to be with the pork! Finally the children's chicken which was good. The side of chips were great.
The banana and date sticky pudding with salt caramel ice cream was fabulous but the cheese plate was a huge disappointment - I'm sure that was not Pynegana cheddar on the plate!
Be careful checking your bill. We were charged incorrectly for drinks the previous night and for a bottle of wine with dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gobbledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, good food & prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the interior, with great large Alice in Wonderland chairs and padded backs - a very nice ambience.

Luckily for us they were open on Good Friday, as we had friends visiting from interstate.

The croquettes had a lovely crisp shell (and if you have the 2 course set menu - turn into a very inexpensive entrée).

The steaks ordered were all delicious and cooked perfectly. The duck was tender and juicy, but the fondant potato was a bit dry - maybe if the orange reduction had been more than a dribble on the plate, it would have offset this.

The sticky date pudding with the macadamia nut brittle crumb and salted caramel ice cream was divine and very reasonably price.

The 2 floor staff were run off their feet, dropping things, and we struggled to get their attention occasionally.

Only suggestion would be for Larceny Restaurant to consider having dessert included in the 2 course menu deal. That way people could choose entrée or dessert and a main.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mamely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Launceston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I often go to this restaurant, and it easily one of, if not the best in Launceston. The staff there are friendly and go out of their way to make your dining experience exceptional. The menu is carefully planned, and delivered with both quality presentation and stellar taste. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Launceston.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sauce22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larceny Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Larceny Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing