We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great tapas”
Review of PX Tapas Wine - CLOSED

PX Tapas Wine
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great tapas”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

so many restaurants have jumped on the tapas bandwagon simply by offering a lot of appetisers and entree's under the banner of "tapas".almost all places fall well short of the mark.
This place nails what authentic tapas is about or should be.
I love the idea of "just feed me" and thats exactly what happened here, simple food but by no means basic. thoughtful and tasty and most important to me well paced. no dusts,foams or smears here.
highlight was the rabbit dish with home made sausage and the best polenta I have had!
each dish explained as it arrived by Damon who would then disappear to cook the next dish
will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    1
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyed breakfast so much, returned the following morning. Food was delicious, coffee was great and the hot chocolate was awesome! Cosy spot in quiet Launceston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareBear7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Have been here for breakfast ,lunch and dinner and have found the food amazing on all occasions .best coffee in launceston too .its open early and great for small private functions .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ILovepastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond brilliant service, food a revelation”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Service I have yet to experience anywhere else in my travels. The food is spectacular. Service is astonishingly good. Can't rate it highly enough.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We went back the next night!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

PX went way beyond our expectations... We were warmly welcomed, the food was fabulous and the atmosphere even better. Out of every restaurant we have been to in Australia this has been the best by far and we would have been willing to pay a lot more than what we were charged! After having the perfect night out on Friday we went back for dinner again Saturday.. We would and will be recommending PX to everyone! ... Adam & Jes

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wilkinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PX Tapas Wine also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Kings Meadows, Launceston
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing