We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sampler Menu Excellent”

Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #190 of 308 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tasmania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sampler Menu Excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had the sampler or taste menu which was a fantastic way to try many dishes. Great flavour range and just the perfect diversity of tastes. Portion size was spot on for a most people I suspect, but a hungry lad may be disappointed.
Best doing the taster in a group, as the requisite wait between courses becomes tedious if not diverted by beer and company.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    54
    20
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent Vietnamese food in the heart of Launceston, who would have believed it! We only found this place by accident as it is in a little aloce off the main street but how happy we were to find it. They have authentic Vietnamese at a good price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A sumptious feast”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great food. We enjoyed a banquet for two and the variety of flavours that came with courteous and quick service.
We were seated next to a window, and as the sun shifted, we got quite hot and had to physically move our table, owners need to erect a blind for summer months, please.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauty Point
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good spot for a good value meal”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A very good meal at an affordable price which one would be very happy to recomend to friends, the Mekong is a family affordable restaurant which serves very tasty food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The city's only Vietnamese restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

As a person of Vietnamese heritage, I owed it to myself to go to this place, had the fried-rice dinner, as I could not find the Pho noodle soup on the menu. It was ok but I was charged $15 for just that dish. It has to be one of the most expensive Vietnamese places on average in Australia, but it was ok and filled with a lot of people when i went there on a Tuesday night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing