We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for a good value meal”

Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #153 of 305 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Beauty Point
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good spot for a good value meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

A very good meal at an affordable price which one would be very happy to recomend to friends, the Mekong is a family affordable restaurant which serves very tasty food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    53
    19
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The city's only Vietnamese restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

As a person of Vietnamese heritage, I owed it to myself to go to this place, had the fried-rice dinner, as I could not find the Pho noodle soup on the menu. It was ok but I was charged $15 for just that dish. It has to be one of the most expensive Vietnamese places on average in Australia, but it was ok and filled with a lot of people when i went there on a Tuesday night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The menu was very disappointing as it was fairly limited and the food a little bland. Staff were attentive and friendly and the atmosphere, well like the food!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChezzaAboutLaunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A decent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We dined here as a group of three.

We had the chicken skewers, spring rolls and beef rice paper rolls for entree, all about $8 a serve. I liked the beef rice paper rolls, the others were a little bland.

For mains I had the chicken lemongrass and chilli stirfry which was quite nice. Big plate and a lovely flavour.

My husband has the lamb shank special which was also nice albeit a little small.

All up with a bottle of wine it came to about $120 for the three of us so it definitely isn't a cheap meal.

The restaurant has a nice decor and the staff were friendly. There was a bit if a wait for meals but as lots of people came in at the same time that was understandable.

There is other cheaper and in my opinion tastier Asian options in Launceston but Mekong makes for a nice change.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tastes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Really great tastes here. Variety of dishes, all we tried were wonderful. Fast, friendly service. Thoroughly recommend this one!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Booltweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing