We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine wines and a great location”

Josef Chromy Cellar Door
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.97*
and up
Josef Chromy Wines Winery Tour Including Tasting and Lunch
Ranked #11 of 74 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fine wines and a great location”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were recommended this place by a relative who had told us about the wine tasting that they offered. Not being wine experts, but enjoying a nice glass when we find one, we happily went along to sample the delights.

What we found was a wide array of different types of wine, expertly poured by a member of staff. the same staff member was also able to let us know all about the wine we were drinking, and what we should look for when tasting. Like i said we are not experts on wine by an means, but they took that on board and were happy to give us a less complicated session that appealed to our limited pallets. The staff also helped us understand wine tasting and were patient and very understanding.

We were not limited to just a few select wines, and we were able to sample nearly all of the range on offer, which was close to 20. Reds, whites, roses, dessert, and fortified wines were all on offer and you could retry as many as you wanted. There was no pressure to buy and all they wanted for the tasting was a small $5 donation. We stayed for food so our tasting was free.

The food we ordered was a simple meat and cheese selection platter which was not expensive at all and easily fed the three of us with a wide array of products all locally sourced. The staff member was happy for us to order and pay later and provided us with a list of the wines we had just sampled with the knowledge that should we wish to purchase a bottle we could make an informed decision on what we may like to buy later. He asked us what we had enjoyed during the tasting and then made little notes on the ones he would recommend, which was a nice touch. With out meal we had a glass of wine as well and the final outcome was a bill that was less than $45 for 3 people with two glasses of wine! We did eventually purchase a bottle but was surprised that it was not as expensive as we thought, cheaper than some duty free shops.

Highlights and plus points:

Great staff and helpful
Beginner, novice and expert levels of wine tasting
No rush atmosphere
Large array of different wines
Amazing local food
Good value for money
The views
Good wine

Negative points:

Tasting bar is a little small so if there are a lot around it it can take a long time! (just a niggle)
You will need a designated driver

Overall you have to go, even if you just want lunch and to enjoy the views!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    49
    9
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great wines”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Attended this venue for a wedding. Spectacular. The food and wine was excellent. Views amazing from the function room. Wished i bought more wine when I was there. Wedding was held under the trees ... was very romantic and cosy. Highly recommend as a guest attending.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimiItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I like to visit Josef Chromy whenever I am in the north of the state. I find their wine delectable, and they have such a good range that no matter who I take they usually falkl in love with one of them! I have found that each time I go I learn something new, either about Josef Chromy himself or about the vinyard. The staff are very well trained with an exceptional amount of knowledge, not only on wine but about the area also. I like it when the staff can recomend food to go with wines and paint a picture of what your tasting and actually engage you in a conversation, not just reeling off the back of the label and this is what the well trained staff do. It makes the visit all the more enjoyable because you know that they love talking about the wine as much as you enjoy drinking it! The surroundings are beautiful and even in winter on a wet miserable day, you can stand in fromt of the fire a gaze out of the dam and vinyard, just perfect. The tasting menu is quite large with around 20 wines on offer but you can choose to do the whole range or just pick certain ones, and its free. If you want a tase of excellent Tassy wine this is the place to go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor service followed by a fee”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

From other reviewers I expected this to be the highlight of the trip to the Tamar Valley and instead was disappointment. No doubt the location is picturesque and the facility top notch, but the fact that you're paying a fee for tasting - no other winery did - with no signage to indicate so was unfair.
Our assistant was disinterested, didn't really offer anything in the way of suggestions, was unpersonable and we were quite happy to leave. The wines themselves are over priced and we found little in the way of them being representative of the rest of the Tamar.
Give this one a miss.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank marko2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for lunch and wine tasting. Lovely wine and lunch. Bit on the pricey side but overall great food and service. Worth the visit :-)

Helpful?
Thank JayD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josef Chromy Cellar Door also viewed

 

Been to Josef Chromy Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing