We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$13 lunch specials can't be beaten”

Alchemy Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 308 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“$13 lunch specials can't be beaten”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times lately and have loved everything I have ordered. The parmigiana was beautiful and moist served with chips and salad. Salt and pepper calamari was also a winner really for the price u would expect much smaller servings. They also have a normal priced menu which u can order from as well. Drinks just on the top side of expensive but u don't have to have one water is free. Good service and lunch 12-3 which is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    74
    31
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
“Best steak in ages”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

While looking for a place to eat dinner on our first night in launceston me and my partner came across this pub/resturant.
We both had the $20 steak special which can with a draft beer/cider.
The steak was awesome which was tender enough to cut with a butter knife.
The cider was good although a tad over priced.
The staff were super friendly.
And the whole experience was fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pedestrian food”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The kitchen closes at 9 pm so be early! The food is takeaway quality. I ordered the Parma chicken and it was awful. The chicken came with a huge amount of tomato paste straight from the tin and this was teamed with crinkle cut chips. This would be fine if they were charging under $20 but they weren't! Service was friendly. This was a Saturday night so I don't think it is unreasonable to expect the place to be open beyond 9!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucasBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lots of daily deals”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had the nightly deal of Steak and a drink for $20.00. It's a nice venue with a bar side and a restaurant side. The Restaurant was booked out so we ate on the Bar side, which was fine. Staff are super friendly. Food was good value with a beer or wine included. Steak was okay, a bit fatty...but some yummy chips and salad included. It's in a good downtown location and an easy choice with daily deals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kazbahtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We came for dinner and the menu was varied and reasonably priced. The venue was busy but still a quiet environment which is hard to find. Food was served quick and was tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Alchemy Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing