We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of 96 on Arthur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
96 on Arthur
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Somehow I knew I was on to a good thing when I found 96 on Arthur via internet searching. The price for a 3 night stay was very good for what must be peak season and everything seemed legit. And I wasn't disappointed, a good sized apartment with everything you'd expect (except a can opener). The $20 add-on option for a bottle of bubbly and chocolates was good value too.

I was in unit 6 upstairs, technically east side but it's at the end of the building where you can still see the city from the deck/balcony. The property itself is uphill a little bit, but still close to the city centre and isn't too much of an imposition to walk up Elizabeth St and a small part of Arthur St (which is where it starts to get quite steep).

They have a VOIP phone in the unit that provides free local and national calling, a few DVDs, and the TV has various channels although no dedicated movies or sports as no doubt those are expensive subscription channels that would increase the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
24
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deloraine, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

got a room for$99 which was great value. Used the washing machines for free, watched a DVD, and cooked in a spacious kitchen - all the things we couldn't do while we camped our way around Tassie. the views of the city were pretty good, and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Excellent apartment accommodation. Streamlined access a little confusing in that wotif.com instructions not clear that provision of key access code requires guest to make phonecall on arrival to landlord. Other than that, clean, easy to locate, basic kitchen equipment necessary for a few days. Very cost effective.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smjohno24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

lovely apartment, very clean and has everything you could need from a large range of kitchen items to in-house movies and a DVD player. I stayed for 3 nights and would stay here again. The location is great, easy walking distance to Launceston CBD. There is on-site parking. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsScott11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great value and good location, stayed 2 nights. Very clean, kitchen had everything needed and in-house movies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to Tassie, using this as our base to explore Launceston and surrounds. The apartment was adequately appointed, and good value for money. The location was convenient, just a short walk to the CBD (although quite a steep hill for the return walk). The kitchen contained enough required for preparing simple meals, and was very handy for making breakfast and fixing picnic lunches for the day. The balcony provided a lovely view over the city and the tamar river, and was a great spot for us to sit and have a drink at night to relax from busy days touring. The bathroom was on the smaller size, but was ample. The bed was comfortable. Off-street parking was good, however required some careful manouvering of the rental car to get in and out. As mentioned in previous reviews, there was some noise from neighbours and the church bells however this was not too great of a concern. We didn't notice the traffic noise as we were in one of the apartments furtherest away from Arthur street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, AUS
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed in apartment number 4. The apartment was spacious with fantastic views over the city looking west. The price is good for what it is.

My only suggestions are getting some sort of mattress cover because the bed was way too hard for my liking and I slept poorly. Also stating 'Wifi Hotspot' on website suggests free internet - it is not free.

This has nothing to do with the accommodation but the Launceston church bells were ringing at random times during the evening and some people also staying at 96 (in another apartment) were 'horizontal dancing' around 1.30am - it was so loud it woke us up and sounded disturbing. I was seriously afraid.

Room Tip: Number 4 had great views and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsmeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 96 on Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 96 on Arthur

Property: 96 on Arthur
Address: 96 Arthur St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 96 on Arthur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your 96 on Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
96 On Arthur Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing