We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD HOTEL, NOT SO GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL, NOT SO GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Hotel was very good. brand new, modern, light and airy. the room we chose (twin with balcony) was on the back of the hotel, and was pretty quiet. we were there for new years eve and expected noise, but luckily we didnt hear anything. the rooms are pretty small considering it used to be a hospital. the bathroom was huge though - perhaps they should have shrunk the bathroom and put an extra meter on the rooms! they did have suites available at the hotel, but they were full for new year. the hotel has a restaurant which also serves room service. the choices were a little limited. we just fancied a burger on our 1st night but they only did fancy food, so we went to the gourmet burger place down the hill which was delicious and half the price. The room also had a funny smell - a bit like drains, but not.. anyway, this soon cleared once we left the balcony door open. the balcony was great, but not big enough to sit out, and there were no chairs on there for us to sit on. the hotel does offer complimentary movies and also the beds were very comfortable. i would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    470
    105
    26
    14
See reviews for
181
544
59
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I’ll declare my connections now. I lived in Launceston for 35 years and wherever I lived I had a fantastic view. I worked for a short time many years ago at the Architectural Firm that undertook the documentation work.
We booked a King Studio Room and that is not necessarily what we got. Sure there was a sink, hot plates and a fridge. There was no table or chairs. We needed to empty the fridge of drinks to fit in some bottled water, a small carton of milk (meant to be complementary but not supplied) and a punnet of raspberries. The bench was loaded with the usual hotel nuts and crisps so there was little space for our small number of groceries.
The wine provided is from the owner/developers vineyard so you would expect the prices to equate to local bottle shop prices at least. These were marked up with a 50% premium.
Now, the view. Well, knowing the location I expected there would be one. In Launceston, anything located on a hillside has fantastic views……………….if it is facing downhill. Our room faced up the hill, towards the retaining wall of the driveway into the loading dock. I was so disappointed as I stupidly expected a view over the city for New Years Eve.
Anyway, being the Christmas break I expected there to be little service traffic noise. Wrong. New Years Eve morning. 7.00am. Beep, beep, beep, beep………of a truck backing in.
Room decoration is a little bit naff 90’s. Some of the design is not entirely thought out, does not really work well and one piece of fake funky furniture chosen by an unfunky designer does not make this a ‘Hip Hotel’. Orange is such a difficult colour.
Many of the parking bays do not comply with Australian Standards AS 2890 particularly end bays and Disabled Parking bays. Inexcusable.
The entry doors are weird. Why was it too hard to fit centre parting auto doors? Single parting doors are laughably confusing.
I know the building’s past life. This was a classic example of 30’s streamline public architecture. I can’t believe someone could have butchered this building in such a brutal and unsympathetic way. Oh well. Some of the original form could have been retained, like the old external spiral stairs.
Okay. It’s cheap. And there might be some great rooms. Don’t bank on it though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mark_melb_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We initially spent twelve nights then two additional one night stays (including Christmas day). The hotel is lovely. Well equiped rooms, very comfortable king bed and great bathroom. The staff were exceptional - very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Nice clean new hotel, rooms are nice and quiet. About a 10 minute walk to the CBD. We weren't sure how we liked the place after we found out it was a converted hospital, but we didn't mind.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavecere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed here during my honeymoon and I found the staff to be exceptional. There was a mix up when we checked in as our booking hadn't gone through. They were able to fix this up immediately and even give us a free upgrade. This really made our day!

The staff continued to be more than helpful throughout our stay. Special thanks to Phillip!

We stayed in the one bedroom spa apartment and it was fantastic!

The highlights of the room included

- The bed! Large and SO comfortable with amazing pillows.
- The spa overlooking the city.
- The large bathroom with two sinks and a good range of toiletries (shaving kit, shower cap, tooth brushes etc).
- The cooking facilities (hotplate, microwave, pots, pans, crockery and cutlery).
- Quiet corner location. We couldn't hear a thing.
- Free internet - loved this!
- The flat screen tv with full digital channels plus movie channels.
- Everything was so clean and new.

I would love to stay here again and again.

The only thing that could make this hotel better for me would be a gym and a couch. The funky orange chairs looked cool but weren't as comfortable as a couch would be for watching tv.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

stayed in 'hotel king room' for $129 per night, only opened several months ago, so all new furnishings, big room, king bed, big clean bathroom, iPod doc, new tv with all hd channels, had a little balcony.. parking was free and was very close to lobby!! very impressed and would def stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Clean, bright, central, great staff, good food. You must stay here if in town.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.0 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
2.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing