We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Charles Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$167
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apartments At York Mansions(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$155
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Regent(Launceston)
$132
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$132
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$139
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Launceston(Launceston)
$142
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Auldington(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$88
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,736)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveler rating
896
644
147
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
644
147
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted hospitalking studiolaunceston general hospitalmodern hoteladjoining roomsroom servicefree wifismall kitchenettefresh aircity centrebusiness triphotel restaurantgood sizereception staffcomfortable bedconvenient locationgreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,711 - 1,716 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This new Hotel to Launceston is an absolute Gem. After arriving on a Friday night after a gruelling week I was greeted with a smiling receptionist who was not only friendly but knowledgable to all of my questions (it was my first time to the town) and efficient. I had booked for one night but extended as I enjoyed it so much.Every experience was great including, the rooms, the food, the staff...nothing was too much trouble. I stay all over Australia and travel extensively overseas and this is a Hotel that I woul not only reccommend without hesitation, i have already booked my next stay to explore this great place even more and am planning to bring my staff here for a conference in 2012 .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuestCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Been to Hotel Charles twice now, taking advantage of their awesome opening specials. Rooms are big, well appointed, and with super comfy beds and clean well laid out bathrooms. Free internet, movie channels etc are a massive plus, I don't know why more hotels don't take advantage of this. Breakfasted on both stays in the restaurant, and throughly enjoyed it - great coffee. Staff are clearly enjoying working there, everyone we came across were throughly helpful and friendly, especially the housekeepers.
Look forward to getting back there!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Arrived 8:50pm. Kitchen closed. Could only get dessert or cheese. Not even a burger.
Room service only available for breakfast - no other menu in room.

Room nice but a bit tight. View was non-existent.

Price (opening special) was very competitive but I would not pay much more because there are much better properties in Launceston. Right now this is a good 3.5 star property but I suspect it will improve. Worth another try in a few months.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Hotel Charles is a new hotel opposite the Launceston General Hospital, built in the shell of the old hospital. It is a short walk out of town and has pleasant views over Launceston. It is quiet and comfortable. With free parking and Internet it is certainly the best choice for a business trip. Breakfast and service are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at Hotel Charles. We got a great deal for $119 for a studio room. It is a gorgeous new hotel right in the heart of Launceston. Now the accomodation is of a completely different standard in tasmania as from the mainland, so we were quite fussy. The room was clean, spacious,light filled and had a beautiful big king bed which was amazing. The bathroom was very modern and nice aswell. The only fault would be the sorroundings - facing the local hospital.
The restaurant is quite expensive and not really worth the price, so we decided to eat elsewhere. Defnitly would recommend Hotel Charles as everything else in Launceston is worn out and tired looking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournegal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews