We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than the pics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much better than the pics”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently. I've stayed in made-over hospitals before, and this is by far the best. The location is great, having the wi-fi and room service was such a plus. The room was incredibly spacious, the staff friendly. My only two complaints: 1 - no block out blinds. 2 - no spare pillows in the cupboard as promised in the compendium.

I would stay here again and would recommend to others that they do, too :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toothbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    540
    121
    30
    14
See reviews for
221
607
79
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Built in a former hospital and done out in bright eye-blinding reds to a generally high standard , this is a convenient slightly corporate-feeling hotel with spacious rooms and the expectation Hattie Jaques will come and turn down the beds any minute!

The bedroom was indeed a former ward but well furnished with a little kitchen and sadly (for me) no bath. Very good bed and nice posh towels and sheets etc.

Breakfast pretty good but charged as extra. Nice staff on front desk a bit like Jim Dale and Barbra Windsor in Carry On Doctor.

The town itself is sleepy in the extreme but visit the chair lift over the spectacular gorge (15 mins walk thru residential hills) , an excellent design centre on Brisbane Stand a curious little park with Edwardian band strand...and a cage of snow monkeys. There is a free 'tiger' bus to the industrial museum which has some good science stuff for kids and interesting local history and some incredible stuffed animals incl spooky wombats.

Room Tip: Nice rear rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecretSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our room was quite large and spacious, with King size bed, but this was a little on the hard side. The room lacked ambience, as it was large there was no added colour except the bed throw and cushions, so a few paintings would have complimented the scene. The redesign from the hotel being a former hospital is a bit sterile, the interior could be improved with softer features.
Bathroom was clean, very large and would benefit from a larger shower and longer bench space beside the sink.
Our last night was spoilt by a very noisy neighbour until 1.00am?
The hotel is in a good location with ample free parking and free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an opening window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a wonderful redeveloped hotel somewhat spoilt by the service. the room was spacious and well provided for but we were left with the impression that the accommodation was secondary to the other activities within the Hotel. As Guests we were denied a meal within the restaurant at a reasonable time because of a big local party and above all else if you have a car do not stay at this hotel where you are told to park on the street if there is a meeting or conference on. A good hotel let down by the system.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRunner1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Was given a room with super high ceilings and it was one of the most spacious hotel rooms I ever stayed in. Loved that it was new and clean. Bathroom was exceptionally cold though. didnt like that it was situated opp a hospital

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wendeefok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I stay here for business frequently and find the place very good. It's a bit out of town but there are plenty of eateries and cafés near by.
This time I was upgraded and had again a very large room with kitchenette.
I love the place and I will be back

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Charles twice, in different rooms on our recent trip to Tasmania. My only complaint is when staying the first time, our room was at the very end of the building and had no WiFi coverage due to the very weak signal. To use WiFi we had to go outside into the hotel corridor. This was not a problem on our second stay when we had a more central location. Apart from that the hotel is in excellent condition with comfortable bedding and modern ammenities.
The cooked to order breakfast included in our room rate, was also excellent and generous.
Good central location, within easy walking distance of the city centre, supermarkets, and reataurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxtrot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing