We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Charles Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$167
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$128
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$78
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auldington(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$96
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,763)
Filter reviews
1,763 results
Traveler rating
914
650
149
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
650
149
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted hospitalking studiolaunceston general hospitalmodern hoteladjoining roomsroom servicefree wifismall kitchenettefresh aircity centrebusiness triphotel restaurantgood sizereception staffcomfortable bedconvenient locationgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
1,321 - 1,326 of 1,763 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

After having a bad experience at another hotel, I made a last minute booking at Hotel Charles, having read so many good reviews on here..
The service was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. The room was modern, clean, had a very big bathroom with a shower with plenty of pressure.
The bed was a little harder than I would like, but was certainly ok and I slept. My only criticism would be the pillows.....not really comfortable at all.
Upon check out, it was the fastest, most efficient check out I have experienced at a hotem anywhere.
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanemelb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Most comfortable bed we had slept in for a week. The hotel was very well located and very close to some great restaurants. Reception was helpful and room was large and clean. Parking was a bit ad hoc but seemed to be freely available.

Room Tip: You can book 2 rooms for kids with a locking door between
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I've always experienced excellent meals and service at the restaurant in the Hotel Charles which is in the café district Charles Street in Launceston. Professional service is offered at all times. The atmosphere is smart, relaxing and sophisticated but certainly not stuffy.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Matthews T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The food here is so ordinary, I actually skipped the breakfast and went down the road and got my own. Possibly worst I've eaten in a long time.

Came for the footy, thought I'd look for a nice new place to rent for a few nights - hotel interior is nice, although you need to take your own bags up to your room. The TV's are old and crackle.

Checked out and I paid for my room, friend paid for his - an extra $200 charged to my CC, without a phone call, email or any permission! When I called and asked to have them explain this charge I was told basically they can do this even though it was their mistake. The front office manager Cheryl went on to basically scream at me over the phone, not taking any responsibility - lying that they had called me and didn't have the numbers of other parties which she later admitted to having.

Terrible experience for what was quite a nice place initially, i'll be going back to where we used to stay next time.

Also beware the places listed on their website to go eat at are owned by the owner of the Hotel ie. Josef Chromy wineries and other place. They don't tell you this and was also very dissapointing.

Let's hope your staff learn more how to treat customers, communications isn't the strongest point of this hotel.

Was a real Faulty Towers Experience being abused by management for their errors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobbieTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Hotel Charles lived up to the reviews on internet accommodation sites. 10-15 walk to Launceston town centre so it is close to shopping, restaurants, etc

A lovely big king bed with a large flat TV. The toilet/shower area was immaculately clean as was the remainder of the unit.

Reception check in/check out was slick and professional. Had one dinner at the in-house restaurant which was really excellent meal and the service by a trio of pleasant, happy ladies was first class.

The funky curtain system and haphazard parking are small minuses.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews