We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I liked this hotel. It has a quant but modern feeling to it. The room was large and warm. The bathroom good size and a good selection of amenities. Strolling distance to the middle of Launceston and Seaport (restaurants by the river). High Tea a speciality. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and this is a great little hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff, sat us in the restaurant after a late flight just on closing time. The food in the restaurant is really good, so nice to have a cooked to order breakfast in the morning.
Overall a really good and reasonably priced hotel for a trip to Launceston.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

What an awesome hotel,the service was fantastic and the ladies that looked after us in the dining room gave us more than 100% of their time.I loved the blind in the room,as I have never seen one like it before. The orange chair was very comfy as were the beds. Parking was great and free . I have already recommened this hotel to my friends

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DEK8153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While indisputably modern my room still felt spartan and like a hospital, albeit with lots of orange. Everything worked and was comfortable and super clean. However, I had expected more character and style.The free wifi was fast and the location convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. Lovely room décor and bright colours.
It seems that it is just the beginning of the kitchen setup - so the breakfast is not up to scratch.
The barista had trouble making hot coffee.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with the Town view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed only the one night of a two week driving tour of Tassie, to dine at a steak restaurant in town. We couldn't be more impressed with the room and the hotel!
Modern décor surrounded our king size bed - much of it exclusive to the hotel (you'll love the window blind!). The ceiling is probably 12ft high, and the ensuite quite roomy.
The hotel now has in-room free wi-fi as well as cabled broadband.
The lobby and restaurant/lounge are compact, but classy and well looked after by the staff.
Hotel Charles is located a short walk South of the CBD on a plot previously part of the Hospital. It shares many of its parking spots with a number of businesses during the day, so there are signs reserving spaces for hotel guests only from 5:30pm to 8:30am. If you can only get one of those spaces when you arrive, the obligation to shift would be a downside of your stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this uber-groovy, ultra-modern hotel!
High quality throughout, from the fluffy towels to the king-sized bed... Very comfortable, and perfectly located! Free wifi, flat screen tv, bar fridge, plenty of cupboards... All you need!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.8 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $113 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing