We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and eat at if you're in lovely Launceston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and eat at if you're in lovely Launceston”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stay here every 6-8 weeks when I come to Launceston for work. The accommodation is lovely - - modern and always very clean. There are great views of the city if you're in a room at the front of the hotel too. But, please let me tell you about the food.....it never disappoints. The menu includes a pleasing variety of fresh and very tasty food. The warm salmon and scallop salad is divine, and the dessert menu is very tempting....I rarely have dessert, but the pistachio creme caramel with home made ice cream and toffee was delightful. The chef is fabulous! The meals come out quickly even on their busy nights, which is great for the hungry traveller, and the waiters are very friendly and eager to accommodate your requests if they can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    483
    111
    28
    14
See reviews for
190
564
63
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Modern, clean, excellent facilities. Central location, coffee shops and restaurants just accross the road. Staff were very helpful. We stayed in an apartment with kitchen facilities which was well equipped and very clean. Great place to stay.Waling distance to shops and supermarket etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LitzaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night while touring Tasmania. The Charles is a smart modern hotel converted from a hospital (though you wouldn't know it). it's a little way out from the centre (10 min walk). Friendly helpful staff. Free wifi. Excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc Mike UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff were lovely the room clean and small good size bathroom with great shower. The breakfast was freshly cooked and lovely unfortunately the evening meal of Wagyu steak over cooked and tough as boots. The hotel is close to the hospital and not much else you need a car to get around there isn't much on offer at the hotel no pool sauna or gym. A little over priced .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhOnda1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Modern facilities, all that you need, however, a bit strange being the old General Hospital. Be clear when ordering you breakfast, it may have been a bit to early for the staff as they didn't quite listen and hit the mark.

I would stay again when I'm in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed here after having it recommended, though now i dont know why it was. our room was so small it was depressing. i think this is an old hospital so it was like a one person old hospital size room. its in a nice area, the paris end of launceston i guess. but i wouldnt stay here again, i didnt like the way it felt and the rooms were too squeezy for my liking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, toured North coast, then returned for 3rd night before flying home. Room was nice and cool during a heat wave. Tried some good restaurants in Launceston, but used hotel restaurant for breakfasts, and a lunch & dinner, and were very happy with quality of food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
800 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing