We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff were lovely the room clean and small good size bathroom with great shower. The breakfast was freshly cooked and lovely unfortunately the evening meal of Wagyu steak over cooked and tough as boots. The hotel is close to the hospital and not much else you need a car to get around there isn't much on offer at the hotel no pool sauna or gym. A little over priced .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhOnda1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Modern facilities, all that you need, however, a bit strange being the old General Hospital. Be clear when ordering you breakfast, it may have been a bit to early for the staff as they didn't quite listen and hit the mark.

I would stay again when I'm in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed here after having it recommended, though now i dont know why it was. our room was so small it was depressing. i think this is an old hospital so it was like a one person old hospital size room. its in a nice area, the paris end of launceston i guess. but i wouldnt stay here again, i didnt like the way it felt and the rooms were too squeezy for my liking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethany2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, toured North coast, then returned for 3rd night before flying home. Room was nice and cool during a heat wave. Tried some good restaurants in Launceston, but used hotel restaurant for breakfasts, and a lunch & dinner, and were very happy with quality of food and service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked in and right from the lovely receptionist who welcomed us our stay was faultless. This hitel is well worth considering. The room was quiet amd cool on a hot day in Launceston. I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and were very happy. Thanks TA reviewers! Reception staff refreshingly friendly and very helpful with information. Our room was extremely comfortable and sizeable, very clean and modern. You would be forgiven for thinking you were the first person to stay in the room, no signs of carnage from previous guests. We loved the small kitchenette which we used for in-house (take away) dining and also for breakfast with supplies that we bought. Bathroom enormous, bed & pillows very comfortable and we didn't find it a problem with watching TV. It's an easy 10 minute walk in to town, however at least 20 minutes to the Seaport area, which we thought was a little overrated. No shortage of cafes, takeaways, restaurants within easy reach. We availed ourselves of the restaurant on our last night and were very happy with the quality and freshness of the food. You won't go wrong staying here, can highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here while sister in hospital. Asked staff for room with blackout curtains as am light sleeper. They immediately upgraded me to a executive studio which also has a truly luxurious bathtub and full kitchenette. Good night's sleep, lots of room and everything you need to cook a meal or simply reheat takeaway. Spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: If you need black out curtains Apparently only rooms ending in 13 have them as yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynG351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
965 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
908 reviews
1 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $117 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing