We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is beautiful, however, the room and service was terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hotel is beautiful, however, the room and service was terrible.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We planned to stay at Hotel Charles for a week around New Years but decided to leave after my girlfriend was waking up with small bites all over her body. We lifted up the mattress and discovered small black "smudges" in the wood - we assumed they were bed bugs and demanded a change in rooms or refund. The hotel was full and they didn't offer any sort of refund for the pre-paid days. We decided to cut our losses instead of ruining our vacation. We found another hotel in Launceston and a wonderful stay - we recommend doing the wine/cheese/berry drive located an hour outside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    515
    120
    29
    14
See reviews for
213
593
72
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here with friends, some of whom had kids. The Hotel is a refurbished hospital and no doubt a fairly recent one because the hotel is spotlessly clean. Service was excellent. A little amazed to find that this Hotel has a top 10 boutique Hotel ranking.... whilst i can't complain about my stay, the Hotel is contemporary, sterile and reminiscent of the corporate hotels of melbourne or Sydney, every time i jumped into a lift i expected to find a penguin colony of businessmen in corporate attire. Breakfast was typically boring, pastries, cereal, toast, same old, same old. Excellent choice for travelling corporate types, if you need some charm this place has zero.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just got back from this hotel. Had a great room overlooking Tamar Valley. I am very particular about the bed and linen, and this makes the difference between a good nights sleep and an excellent nights sleep. This place has the most comfortable beds for a hotel in Australia, apart from the Heaven beds at the other hotels. Staff are fantastic and a special mention to Amy who was exceptional. She was extremely knowledgeable and gave great advice. Will only stay at this hotel in Launceston from now on. Used to stay at another hotel next to the water, which i thought was great, but their beds are not very comfortable. Had the breakfast, which can be hit an miss, but they were happy with the feedback and will take it on board. Great hotel and excellent value

Room Tip: Room with balconies overlooking the Tamar Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_12325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Came to Tasmania for a holiday, and was initially staying at a different hotel. Then, my husband had an emergency and was admitted to hospital, so we picked Hotel Charles for the location. We stayed a total of 4 nights. The hotel was really nice, and everything was brand new. However, the best part of the hotel for us is the service. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They always enquired about the wellbeing of my husband and went out of their way to help. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diaroxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a convenient, quiet location. Staff were very friendly and helpful (especially the restaurant staff). The breakfasts were wonderful and dinner at the restaurant so nice we had it twice. Room was modern, clean and everything you could want.
We will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeroicJDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a launching pad to our Tassie road trip. Room was very spacious, especially the bathroom which felt luxurious after spending days on a boat up north. The front desk staff was extremely helpful in road directions and driving guidance, especially given that we were there during a Bushfire outbreak/scare. I can't say too much about the location in Launceston itself, as ultimately we decided to drive the 2+ hours to Cradle Mountain instead of exploring locally.
Very excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShalNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife on 11th January. This hotel is quite new in Launceston, Tasmania. Compact, simple, quiet with free car park and WiFcari. Price is reasonable and lots restaurants nearby. I recommend travelers to stay here with a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing