We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel Charles is in a great location in Launceston and the service is attentive and helpful. The room is spacious and clean and well equipped. The only negative was despite booking a King size bed, we were given two single beds pushed together. Apart from that its definitely a good option when staying in Launceston

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed 2 consecutive nights then an additional night in December 2012. The Hotel was extremely clean and offered simple but satisfactory amenities. The room was spacious (very high ceiling heights) and bright and a nice base to come back to after spending the day out exploring Tassie. It does not have 'boutique' charm or a homely feel but if that is not a priority for you I would recommend this Hotel. It is also situated ten mins from Launceston town centre and Charles street offers good cafe food on the way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgkeith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Hotel Charles is reliable accommodation for anyone who is just looking for a place to rest up. It is clean, modern and the staff at the counter are friendly. If you are looking for a hotel with a little more charm or a personal touch, this isn't the hotel for you. It is a great place to base yourself in relation to Launceston, restaurants and surrounding areas, however doesn't provide much more than that. A great place to sleep and shower if this is all you need from a hotel. You pay for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen_ryan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is quite modern and located right at the Hospital in Launceston. We had a Queen spa room which meant a jetted tub in the bedroom. There was a small kitchen and sitting area outside of the bedroom. Quirky modern furniture and nice sized TV in the living area. There is a restaurant downstairs with a nice lounge/fireplace area. We ate breakfast at the restaurant - food was good - but not $16 good for continental breakfast. Very nice and helpful front desk staff made the visit enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondone1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Dec, and found our room to be clean & modern, with a large and comfortable bed, chic furniture; and a balcony to sit out at during the evenings.

Location wise, this is just outside the CBD on Charles Street, and there are a few restaurants within walking distance. Parking spots might be a problem during busy times, although we usually found parking without a fuss.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJD013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Currently staying here and we are really impressed wiith the staff, amenities and standard. We had dinner here last night and it was great. Service was fantastic, wine list had some good local wines and the food was free range. I can't believe some of the puerile comments made by chocChipMuv, about this place. Not enough carparks, but they never had a problem finding one? Non disclosure of the hotel being a decommissioned hospital? Give me a break! Recommend this place to anyone looking for a boutique stay in Launceston. Oh, and just for the record, it's less than a 10 min walk into town.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank ThundercatPrinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location is really convenient. I usually stay at the Country Club but this is a more convenient location,friendlier and much better value. Rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.8 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing