We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,872)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveler rating
973
688
161
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
688
161
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted hospitallaunceston general hospitalmodern hotelroom serviceking roomfree wifismall kitchenettefresh airbusiness triphotel restaurantcity centrecomfortable bedreception staffgreat roomconvenient locationan easy walkgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Hotel Charles is reliable accommodation for anyone who is just looking for a place to rest up. It is clean, modern and the staff at the counter are friendly. If you are looking for a hotel with a little more charm or a personal touch, this isn't the hotel for you. It is a great place to base yourself in relation to Launceston, restaurants and surrounding areas, however doesn't provide much more than that. A great place to sleep and shower if this is all you need from a hotel. You pay for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen_ryan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is quite modern and located right at the Hospital in Launceston. We had a Queen spa room which meant a jetted tub in the bedroom. There was a small kitchen and sitting area outside of the bedroom. Quirky modern furniture and nice sized TV in the living area. There is a restaurant downstairs with a nice lounge/fireplace area. We ate breakfast at the restaurant - food was good - but not $16 good for continental breakfast. Very nice and helpful front desk staff made the visit enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondone1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Dec, and found our room to be clean & modern, with a large and comfortable bed, chic furniture; and a balcony to sit out at during the evenings.

Location wise, this is just outside the CBD on Charles Street, and there are a few restaurants within walking distance. Parking spots might be a problem during busy times, although we usually found parking without a fuss.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJD013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Currently staying here and we are really impressed wiith the staff, amenities and standard. We had dinner here last night and it was great. Service was fantastic, wine list had some good local wines and the food was free range. I can't believe some of the puerile comments made by chocChipMuv, about this place. Not enough carparks, but they never had a problem finding one? Non disclosure of the hotel being a decommissioned hospital? Give me a break! Recommend this place to anyone looking for a boutique stay in Launceston. Oh, and just for the record, it's less than a 10 min walk into town.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank ThundercatPrinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location is really convenient. I usually stay at the Country Club but this is a more convenient location,friendlier and much better value. Rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews