We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$89
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$109
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$127
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quest Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$116
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$133
$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveler rating
960
674
154
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
674
154
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted hospitalking studiolaunceston general hospitalmodern hotelroom servicefree wifismall kitchenettefresh airbusiness triphotel restaurantcity centrecomfortable bedreception staffgood sizegreat roomconvenient locationan easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,592 - 1,597 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice modern hotel in the centre of Launceston. Close to restaurant and can walk to the cataract gorge. The service was pretty good, with an excellent breakfast selection. Our key did stop working after returning on one afternoon, but it was resolved very quickly.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mushfiq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed there at the end of a long week-end trip around the Tamar Valley. The room was super modern, nicely decorated, clean. Very quiet in the morning. And fairly central location. Haven't tried the restaurant, which is meant to be very good according to the locals. Just a slight disappointment as I had an expectation that there would be views given the hotel is located on top of a hill but the only view we had was to the carpark.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Magalette29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night. This hotel is clean and bright. I found it quiet and parking was easy. Hotel reception were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of cafes, restuarants, supermarket etc. We didn't get the breakie which you could purchase for $20pp for check in. There are plenty of food options nearby. Great bed AND pillow! Had a sliding door that opened on to a small balcony (no room to sit) but was great as I dislike hotels where you can open windows and get fresh air.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerdreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

For our single night stopover on business, The Charles was a delightful place to rest and refuel. Rooms were spacious and fun with style not overwhelming function. Bathroom was almost big enough for cat-swinging, (should one be so inclined). Room service food was fresh and hot. I agree that staff are not highly enthusiastic, but I found that an 'authentic' change from the fake niceness one so often encounters. I would have preferred a king bed rather than twins brought together, but the bed itself was very comfortable, and pillow variety good. Overall great value for money with parking and free internet included (sadly remarkable in Australia - what a joke!).

Room Tip: We asked for quiet rooms, and they were!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zentriplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The good: free on site parking, free wifi, nice lobby, comfy beds, good size room. Good location. Did not eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. There's a bowl of fresh apples by the reception which you can help yourself to.

The not so good: staff are clinical. They do their job, but there's no extra passion felt. The fire alarm went off after midnight one of the days we were here. Had to evacuate the building. Thankfully it was a false alarm, but there was no explanation from the staff on what happened; nor an apology /acknowledgement of the inconvenience. The rooms are sparely decorated, adding to the clinical feel. Ditto the large but largely empty toilet - a lot of empty space. No tub.

In summary: everything works here. Just lacks a personal touch which makes a great hotel. But it is a comfy place to sleep in, and location is pretty good.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews