We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb modernism”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“superb modernism”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

clean and modern with lots of space both public and in the rooms. Its unusual as its a former hospital - so wide corridors and big rooms. Its not like a hospital in any other way - super breakfast in a really up-to-date restaurant and bar area.

Room Tip: no problem really but if you want a view over the town ask for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandBronwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    541
    121
    30
    14
See reviews for
221
608
79
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were keen to stay at the Hotel Charles after staying in a number of hotels in Launceston over the years and not being that impressed with any of them. We booked a Hotel King Room on the hotel web site and booking ahead we got a good deal matching other sites without the booking fees. The room was on the 3rd floor and the one thing we noticed was how quiet it was for our overnight stay.They have thought of just about everything: the small but unobtrusive kitchenette was well appointed with 2 hot plates, microwave,cooking utensils, storage containers small coffee plunger along with coffee, tea and plenty of milk fresh. Ensuite bathroom with good sized shower, great water pressure and thick soft white towels. The room was tastefully decorated and a credit to house keeping . The hotel information guide really covered anything you might need to know even what brand of bed you were sleeping on and a discount deal if you would like to purchase one yourself! This room would be ideal for someone on a business trip and wanting to be a bit self sufficient with the added bonus of a restaurant downstairs oh, and free parking! Checking in and out was speedy and hassle free.
We would not stay anywhere else on future trips to Launceston.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropical_Traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a return visit for us, (family wedding) and we were just as impressed as our visit in April!.We booked adjoining suites this time for family, (very reasonable tariff) extremely roomy and well fitted out, immaculate. The service at the front desk was charming, and the attractive lounge (with lovely fire) in the lobby handy for gatherings. Nice restaurant with very helpful staff who found paper and crayons for grandchildren! We had a chance to explore more of Launceston this trip and it is a most charming city with lots of lovely eating places and cute shops, the waterfront has interesting restaurants, the Gorge was amazing, full flood. It is a great destination and the Charles is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I must admit that visiting this Hotel for the first time was a bit daunting as the last time i had walked through the doors it was the hospital. Pleasant surprise - it has been fitted out very nicely. Reception area gives you sneak peaks into restaurant and lounge area - both very inviting. Our room was a studio with kitchenette, king-size comfy bed, large and quality appointed bathroom and trendy chair (which was comfy to sit in but constantly in the way of access to the wardrobe/balcony door). Our room didnt have a fantastic view but it wasnt bad looking to the hills of West Launceston with all the lovely weatherboard houses. The 'balcony' was very small but at least it means you can get some fresh air and check out the weather conditions before venturing out for the day. We stayed here for 4 nights and found the first three extremely comfortable and pleasant, however our last night was a Friday night and we had a very noisy group next door - obviously visitors from other rooms all gathered in the room next to us - as we had a very early flight out the following morning we phoned reception to ask if they could ask them to quieten down. Reception dealt with the situation immediately and even phoned back to advise us that the guests said they were going out for the night and were sorry.... Something else that hadnt bothered us too much until the continual door closing next door is that the doors do bang shut very loudly and can disturb you from many rooms away. Maybe they could look at installing an extra door on the corridor so that you only have the neighbouring room within your little alcove - the building would easily allow for this from its original hospital design..

Room Tip: Upgrade to studio and ask for a 'quiet' area with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollipop888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Was told it was the old Launceston hospital so being in a wheelchair I was confident it would be ok and am happy to report the disabled room was a delight. Also has an adjoining door to another room for a carer. Disabled park just outside door. Launceston attractions were brilliant must recomend the Museum also the auto museum a lovely Park nearby that for some strange reason has monkeys in it and the casino which was very accesable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ironsideMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Book accomodation for 3 couples on line and liked the look of this Hotel. Requested 3 rooms close together (including one with a shower chair). All rooms were modern and spacious, very comfortable beds. Bathrooms were great, especially the one with the chair. Our rooms were all together as requested. Staff were friendly and helpful and the dining room and meals excellent. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at the Charles hotel in Launceston Tasmania for one night recently and we were impressed by the staff and the quality of the hotel room and fittings. The hotel Charles is in a quiet but very convenient location to all business and tourist venues around Launceston.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly rebook when visiting Launceston.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTravellers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#4 of 30 in Launceston
732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing