We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$59
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$108
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quest Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$109
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,832)
Filter reviews
1,832 results
Traveler rating
955
674
153
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
674
153
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted hospitalking studiolaunceston general hospitalmodern hotelroom servicefree wifismall kitchenettefresh airbusiness triphotel restaurantcity centrecomfortable bedreception staffgood sizegreat roomconvenient locationan easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,754 - 1,759 of 1,832 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel is outstanding. New, stylish, comfortable, quiet and luxurious. The continental breakfast was delicious...great bircher museli, real natural yoghurt, lovely fruits, even sourdough bread to toast! A wonderful experience. I will definitely be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Upon arriving in Tasmania we spent one night in Hotel Charles in Launceston. The hotel is very new and one of the only options in Launceston with a modern look.
We were not disappointed when arriving: it is a big white building on a hill, parking spaces right in front of the hotel.
Even though we were very early, 9am, there was already a room available. The only thing was we indicated we needed a room for 2 adults plus one child and one way or the other, all hotels assume
we do not need an extra bed for a child.
However, within a few minutes the hotel arranged a larger room for us (which was a bit mode expensive but it immediately came with an extra bed) which was very appreciated by us.

Rooms are large and bright. They room came with a kitchenette tucked away in a nice corner with a small dining table and chairs, the bathroom was very large with a good shower. No bathtub.
The decor is very modern and new, with some bright orange colors.

The hotel itself is exactly like the pictures on the website, I did not have to take any pictures to show the real rooms. Nice fireplace in the lobby, modern looking restaurant. We actually did not use the restaurant but went out for lunch in Launceston and had a quick dinner in our room at night. The next morning we left early.

The location is very good, close to Cataract Gorge and Launceston town. We used our car to get around, also to visit one of the larger supermarkets in the neighborhood but there is one on walking distance.
I think everything is on walking distance and the hotel provides info in the room of where to find everything as well as the front desk can provide you with a map.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We booked a bed and breakfast package for one night. The room, whilst comfortably furnished, was claustrophobic even though it had a 'balcony' ( a small one foot strip with standing room only). The view from our room was of a construction site and was most unappealing. This property is managed by the same people who operate the wonderful Stewarts Bay Lodge at Port Arthur. We had recently stayed at Stewarts Bay so had fortunately already watched the in-house movies! This was just as well as two of the movie channels had no sound. We notified reception of this problem and were assured it would be fixed but this did not happen. Room service meal was adequate and the room service woman was extremely pleasant. Sleep quality was adequate in spite of the fact that there is no way to have fresh air in the room other than opening the balcony door, thus preventing the use of the rollup 'blinds'. When we fronted up for breakfast we were told that the package only included a continental breakfast (how mean of them...). The stewed fruit consisted of a few pears, two of which had gone bad, and some woody rhubarb. Our plates were not cleared after the first course even though there were two staff and no other guests in the dining room. The coffee was very good. Overall, we would not be inclined to stay here again without a bit of a 'discussion' with management prior to booking.

Room Tip: Book by phone....
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Work put me up at the Charles, and what can I say- it was not pleasant. The attitude of the staff leaves a lot to be desired... The lady at reception was both rude and ineffectual.

The room was nice, but some of the furniture was oversized and stopped you being able to access the wardrobes etc.

The restaurant however was the worst part. I had fish that was clearly not fresh, had practically no flavour and left my stomach a bit yuk afterwards. The wait staff ignored me and took 20 minutes to get my wine when the restaurant was pretty much empty.

For the price you pay, even if it is work paying, I expect better. This could be a great hotel- the refurbishments have made it beuaruful- but the restaurant and service ruined it for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_ClaireMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Great place to stay. New hotel in the refurbished old hospital. Bright decor. Great food and good parking. About 4 block walk to cbd. Opposite new hospital

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews