We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Work put me up at the Charles, and what can I say- it was not pleasant. The attitude of the staff leaves a lot to be desired... The lady at reception was both rude and ineffectual.

The room was nice, but some of the furniture was oversized and stopped you being able to access the wardrobes etc.

The restaurant however was the worst part. I had fish that was clearly not fresh, had practically no flavour and left my stomach a bit yuk afterwards. The wait staff ignored me and took 20 minutes to get my wine when the restaurant was pretty much empty.

For the price you pay, even if it is work paying, I expect better. This could be a great hotel- the refurbishments have made it beuaruful- but the restaurant and service ruined it for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_ClaireMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2011

Great place to stay. New hotel in the refurbished old hospital. Bright decor. Great food and good parking. About 4 block walk to cbd. Opposite new hospital

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Hotel Charles Launceston was easy to find. It is located downtown Launceston. Although we went pass it because our GPS told us it is by a hospital! It was by the big round about. Once you make the right turn, we could see the huge modern building a little up the hill! We were in a self contain unit for a while and it was a nice change to be in a big modern hotel.

It has a big reception area and restaurant with a nice view, although we did not have any meal at the restaurant.

The bedroom was big and clean. It equipped with a flat screen TV. The one thing I really love was the IPOD dock with radio clock! I have no complain about the nice, clean and comfortable queen bed. The attached bathroom was clean and enough amenities.

One thing worth mentioned – when we couldn’t get to Bicheno and forced to return to Launceston, we were afraid the “last minute” room rate at the Charles Hotel is going to be outrages. Not at all! There offered us the same rate as we booked online.

Considering the location, nice, clean big room and bathroom, it is definitely worth the money. We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer! Spotless room, fantastic spacious bathroom and a beautifully comfortable bed. Great value for money, we booked online and paid $129 for a king room.

I read reviews before we booked and had mild concerns about the distance from the centre of town, but found that it was extremely well-located - definitely within walking distance and close to some top restaurants and a small grocer.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

What a great hotel and very different from the usual hotels in Launceston. The staff were great - we wanted a late check out and it was no problem. We only had one problem in that the room was next to some construction work on the nearby hospital which started very early. It's a bit of a walk into town but only 15 minutes or so. There is a Coles just down the road so you can buy your breakfast provisions and keep them in the fridge in your room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed here just for one night with partner at the beginning of the month. Wish it had been for longer! The service was excellent. Dined from room service which was due to us arriving quite late in the evening and the food arrived quickly and was really well presented and good value, and most of all really tasty! The rooms were very modern, and the bathroom was straight out of a magazine! The big orange chair in the bedroom did get in the way a bit as we had a lot of luggage with us, but it was very comfy! All in all a really first class hotel close to the airport, I would definintely recommend and use it again if I am ever in the area. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

It is always nice staying in a new hotel, however, the rooms are quite small. We booked our hotel online and paid $139 but did not have a view from the room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.8 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $113 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing