We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”
Review of Hi George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hi George
Ranked #6 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very comfortable B & B run by a delightful "older couple". Would definitely stay again, Bedroom, small sitting room plus good sized bathroom. Owners - please leave a little space for guests to put out their things. The cupboards were filled with spare linen -also very little room for laptop and associated camera gear, There were steep stairs at the back of the rooms to the car park and on arrival the owner very obligingly suggested we bring our gear in at street level. Excellent suggestion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebonygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hi George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 109 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for one night on the way through Launceston. The owners are very friendly, and have worked in the B&B industry for many years. The rooms appears to be very new inside, and the sheets were very comfortable. This place is one of the reasons why we are now B&B converts.

They have a beloved Dachshund pet called Miss Poppy, who is almost one of the family.

The city is just a short walk down the hill, and there is also free parking at the rear of the property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_trav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hi George is a welcoming and friendly retreat in Central Launceston. David and Fiona are a low key fair dinkum couple who treat you as though you are family. Loved the communal breakfast table where we sat for an hour and talked to 3 other couples about what they were doing in Tasmania.
Breakfast was individually cooked and was simple but well done. The rooms are comfortable and exuded quality ..... an old home that has been tastefully converted. The bed was great as was the ensuite.
Even had a yarn to the house maid (I think!!), and she obviously was proud of what she did and showed great allegiance to the place.
We will be back!!!;

Room Tip: We saw two rooms .....both were different but had their own qualities.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Lovely B and B, hosts David and Fiona made us very welcome. En suite bedrooms comfy and well equipped and clean. Yummy breakfast freshly cooked and served around a communal table that encourages chatting to fellow guests. Free car parking at rear of Hi George. Free use of laundry - useful when touring. Close to the centre of beautiful Launceston and walkable to the gorge and cataract. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Road noise at front but not too bad at night. Bring luggage through front for rooms 1-4.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomsonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a great little find, old worldly, not much to look at on the outside, but the rooms and bathrooms were beautifully renovated and bathrooms were modern. We had everything we needed in the rooms and the hosts were adorable!

The location is great, you can walk to everything and its close to restaurants and pubs too. I even took a walk to Cataract Gorge.

I have to say, the breakfast was amazing and nothing was any trouble, the hosts were lovely, helpful and very knowledgeable.

I would definitely recommend staying as a couple or a family.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar from what we saw
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A lovely little B & B with wonderful hosts and a great breakfast. Perfectly positioned, just walk down the hill to the centre of town. It was quiet, well maintained, and very comfortable with all the basics you need. Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Central location to the CBD. Rooms are quaint, simple and clean. Breakfast is available each day. Dave and Fiona make you feel welcome. Be advised there's no air conditioning if you visit in the warmer months. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirrabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.0 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi George

Address: 64 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: $103 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi George 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hi George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi George Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing