We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hi George
Ranked #5 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

There aren't too many B&Bs in Launceston, but we chose Hi George for the location. It was just a few blocks from downtown and walking distance to some very good restaurants, including a couple just out the back. That said, Launceston is small and has lots of parking so it wouldn't have been burdensome to stay further away. However, Hi George was a good little room at a bit less a price than some of the others. Not overly fancy but it was perfectly fine for us. The hosts are very, very nice and the breakfast at the communal table was just great. Free parking in back, too. Overall a good decision.

Room Tip: We didn't see the downstairs rooms, but if you have luggage you might want to choose one. The u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
74
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Enjoyed our couple of nights here. The room was warm, the Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a decent shower. Easy to find and the location was within easy walking distance of town and the Gorge. Fiona and David were generous hosts and we enjoyed the conversation at brekky. Nice to get a feel for the local point of views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TahDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinders Island, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This establishment would have to be the best B&B around town. Wonderful hosts Fiona and David.I checked in latish and nothing was too much trouble. Great homemade shortbread biscuits together with tea and coffee making facilities was just the right touch on a cold winters night.
The luxurious linen on the bed is divine and when I said I had an early morning appointment, 'No problem would a 7:30 am breakfast suit you?" What fantastic service and the breakfast was splendid and included homemade jams, toast ,egg, bacon and tomato and choice of several cereals with fruit if you so wished.
I recommend staying here. The location is one block from the heart of Launceston and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larnie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

This delightful b and b is very central in Launceston. Our hosts were very welcoming and our rooms had nearly everything we needed with a little sitting room off to the side. There are some charming quirky features like the only fridge being out in the hall so we had to get our fresh milk there and our wine and glasses were stored there as well. There is no shampoo or conditioner either but our rooms were cleaned everyday and we had fresh towels everyday as well. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Hi George for the first night of our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere nice and inexpensive as we wanted to be able to spend big when we were stating Cradle Mountain.

The rooms were well presented, clean and warm. There was free off street parking and full breakfast cooked by Georges wife.

The service from George and his wife was fabulous. We will stay here again at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmRaidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Eight weeks before our planned visit, I booked online and fully paid for a two night stay in Room 4 towards the back of the property. Upon arrival my wife & I were given Room 1 at the very front of the house. Why? Because guests that were already in Room 4 had decided that they wanted to stay another night. Fine but what about my booking? I was more than a little annoyed & David probably viewed me as a difficult customer at that stage. We settled for a smaller room (Room 6) at the back. After the first night, David moved our luggage into Room 4 whilst we were out & about.
Breakfast was in an adjacent building separated by a small courtyard with a lovely garden. All guests sat at one large table in a large kitchen/dining room with Fiona cooking up eggs, bacon and tomatoes. It was almost as if we were guests invited into David & Fiona's house for a meal. David introduced us to other guests and we had interesting conversations while having a generous breakfast. You wanted to linger, enjoying breakfast. Not just gobble & run, as happens at breakfasts in hotels.
David was helpful with sugestions of places to visit and where to eat.
I did enjoy my stay as did my wife. I would recommend David & Fiona's establishment to anyone who enjoys staying at bed & breakfasts, especially those in heritage houses. We just got off to a bad start. David was forever the gentleman.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great location, very friendly owners. Bed a bit noisy, but beautifully decorated and clean. Lovely breakfast, and we loved that we were introduced to the other guests, it got the conversations started. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi George

Property: Hi George
Address: 64 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi George 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hi George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi George Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing