We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of Black Cow Bistro

Black Cow Bistro
Reserve with
Black Cow Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 306 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: “Tasmanian Beef Specialist” Located in the historic art deco Luck’s Butchery shop in Launceston, Tasmania, Black Cow showcases grass fed, free range, hormone free, dry aged, premium Tasmanian beef including brands from Cape Grim, Greenhams, Clover Country, King Island and Flinders Island amongst others. Legislation in Tasmania against the use of hormone growth promotants and antibiotics in red meat production combined with Tasmanian graziers’ focus on free-range grass fed cattle produces happy animals and superior quality meat. A flexible pricing structure and side dishes designed around fresh, local produce allow guests to create the dining experience they desire. Also sporting a well-priced wine list with a heavy emphasis on local Tasmanian wines with some full-bodied reds thrown in for good measure. An energetic atmosphere and friendly professional service completes the Black Cow offering. This casual Bistro style has been a hit with the local community as well as visitors so reservations are essential. A private wine room offers dining for up to 12 guests for those important dinners and negotiations. Open 7 nights a week from 5:30pm to late. The Black Cow logo has been inspired by the amazing ancient artworks in the Lascaux Caves in France. Carbon dating indicates that these paintings are more than 17,000 years old. Black Cow, the name, is a tribute to the Bos Genus… Historically the cow has been important to many cultures. It has been seen and worshiped as a symbol of contentedness, fecundity, the passive yet creative and generative powers of nature, patience, nourishment, abundance, fertility and equifinality. It is also, of course, an excellent source of protein.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Loved this place! Perfect steak, attentive staff and a fine dining experience. Yes, it's expensive but worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Latte62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    214
    95
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of my BEST steaks ever.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Big call I know, but Black Cow served my partner one of our best steaks ever. She even said it beat Rockpool from a few weeks ago. I liked the truffle bearnaise and she the peppercorn jus.
Of particular note were the sides. Some different things from the usual suspects and I was so happy to see - and order - fennel. It's such an under-appreciated vegie and goes well with steak. Top marks guys.
Service was professional and we thoroughly recommend Black Cow to you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great steak but a little pricey”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Husband and I felt like a nice steak so we booked in advance which is a must for the Black Cow.
The Pork Belly entrée was tasty. Just enough pork belly and the bean shoot, coriander salad was refreshing and cut through the richness of the pork.
I had an Eye Fillet with the truffle béarnaise sauce. The steak was cooked well for and the béarnaise was a fantastic accompaniment. Husband was happy with his scotch fillet. We had a side of dutch carrots which were also very tasty.
Desserts were ok but so overpriced – why do so many great restaurants do this? I am a sweet tooth and am happy to pay up to $15 for a dessert but $18 is too much regardless of the multiple components (soil and dust) on the plate.
Staff were attentive and polite.
Restaurant can get quite loud when full. If you are after a romantic, quite night this is not the place to go.
All up I think we would return but it’s not on my must go back soon list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Divine!!!!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We go here every month. You cant get a better pork belly dish or steak anywhere. The service is 5 star and the food always a high standard. This is our number one restaurant in launceston. Not suitable for large groups though as space is limited. We came in dec 2012 last time for work dinner with 6 people we were on a table that suited 4 people. Very uncomfortable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamara-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth trying if you like steak and wine”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautifully cooked local steak (truffle bearnaise was worth trying). Good wine list. Nice oyster entree and indulgent fondant dessert. Attentive staff. Worth trying if you're feeling like a splurge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jax222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cow Bistro also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
 

Been to Black Cow Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing