We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tempura whiting heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish 'n Chips

Fish 'n Chips
Ranked #119 of 305 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tempura whiting heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just had a late Saturday lunch of delicious tempura whiting on fresh leaf salad, which was a very tasty combination. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DivePanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    105
    60
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

$28 for 2 small pieces of thin dry flake, a small cone of chips and a sml bottle of green tea - cost not a problem if the food good, but it wasn't. Although we ordered grilled flake, it was very oily (the fish itself was overcooked and dry). The chips ok but nothing special. Service surly, no pleasantries, food just dumped on table and walked away. To further offend, I realized when I had left, that a surcharge had been charged for using EFTPOS - not credit, just eftpos ?? Is this allowed ?? Left hungry and ripped off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb1965111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Closed early”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Easter Sunday and closed early!

A group arrived at 7.30pm, & it was closed early. Phoned from outside, because doors were locked, to be told '... we're already closed -

Very disappointed. Internet indicated 8.30pm.

Helpful?
3 Thank Danah-Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guyra, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Expensive but good quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had calamari and chips and seafood salad. Very friendly quick service. Quiet inside. Great view over marina especially at dusk. The food was prepared very quickly. One of the better meals we have had, but we feel it was expensive. Calamari and chips were served in a paper cone, which seemed to be a smallish serve. Seafood Salad was a great size with good quality ingredients and a good serving size.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great prices and seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My adult daughter and I ate here twice while staying at the Peppers Seaport hotel and loved it. The calamari salad is wonderful and the fish is so fresh and well prepared. The ordering staff are very helpful and the location overlooking the river was very peaceful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank momflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish 'n Chips also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Fish 'n Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing